Journeyman

Question: Has anyone seen Journeyman? Anyone like it? I have every episode locked up my DVR but I haven’t seen a single one yet. Trying to decide if it is worth it at this point or if I should just count my losses. Also, anyone actually like Bionic Woman? So far the show has really been shite.

Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

I Love the 80’s

Say what you will about A-Ha and the laughability of Take On Me, but this video totally rocks. Seriously, I’m glad I found this video.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

I Don’t Think We Are In Kansas Anymore

Check out this video of the amazing wind storm we had in Seattle yesterday.  Notice how the video caption reads: “Seattle was whipped by Thursday’s wind storm, so much that one man was forced to hold onto a tree to keep from being blown over.”
 
While watching the video pay attention to how A) the tree is probably 1/50th of his diameter, B) it is bending at about a 1 degree angle and C) how the seven year old is just casually walking his bike past this man in peril.
 
It was pretty impressive though.  I guess winds got up to 62mph in West Seattle.  Pretty cool.
 

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

This is for you, Sara:

CBS almost put on the air a new pilot featuring zombie sex.  Possibly the greatest/weirdest pilot ever made.  Read all about it and see some amazing video clips here.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | 4 Comments

Seven Things I Love RIGHT NOW

Fall – Best season ever? I think so. Cool temperatures, no humidity, changing leaves, clear blue skies, that feeling of going back to school. I love it. It reenergizes me before the long dark winter. I kind of miss not being in New England right now, because everything is so perfect there, but Seattle isn’t bad when it comes to fall. Nearly the same as back home. And so far it hasn’t rained nearly as much as everyone made it out that it would.

My DVR – God bless the man that made this invention. I can now come home late from work and not miss a minute of my shows. I can watch a show AS I AM TAPING IT. I can easily fast-forward through the commercials. I can also tell it to tape something once and it just keeps taping it. I rarely ever watch live TV any more.

Cold Beer – Tough day at work? Nothing helps you chill out better after a hard day than a cold brew and a funny TV show. Right now I’m trying out Alaskan Amber. Nothing but local brews for me. The day I buy a case of Coors is the day I die inside.

Cute Girls – Pretty much the only thing better than a cold beer to cure that I hate work thing.

People Who Aren’t Assholes – Seems too obvious for this list, but God, is it not. If I have to talk to one more asshole, douche bag, or shit-for-brains I’ll kill someone. And need a lot of cold beer and cute girls to talk me off the ledge.

Easy Street Records – CDs have officially supplanted DVDs as my addiction of choice. New CD day has taken on a new meaning. I’ve got one of the countries best independent music stores basically two blocks away from where I live. It’s awesome. I’m literally drowning in new CDs. You know that idea you have in your head of the music geek that lives in Seattle? Well, you’re looking at him.

My Apartment – When I finally clean it to the point where there isn’t garbage everywhere, I’ll let you know what it looks like. I finally got all of the Ikea boxes out. Now it is time to clean. That is, when right after I do laundry in my crappy building machines.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Random Question Running Thru My Brain

Why does beer taste so much better COLD?

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Great Moments In Ben History

Today Nick and I worked on redoing all of the displays in the store. This involved taking panels off of the wall, rewiring them, and then putting them back up. While doing wire management on my own I reached for a zip tie a little out of my reach, only to discover that the very high center of gravity of the panel was slowly tipping in the wrong direction.

I put all of my heft against the panel, but it was too late. It was on its way down. So I decided to slow its descent to minimize as much damage as possible.

So I stopped the panel with my head, that being the best material available at the time to do so.

Didn’t really save much, as I managed to tear another shelf off of the wall and break a cube. But I did have a giant heavy wooden panel fall on my head. So there’s that.

Thank you, folks. This has been another great moment in Ben History.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Telemarketers

After getting my telephone hooked up last week with the internet and the cable I discovered something I’d almost forgotten about: The untold pleasures of multiple telemarketer calls. At first I couldn’t figure out who had been calling me all day, since I’m pretty sure only my parents actually know my new number. Then as the calls started pouring in it all made sense. After the second one in an hour I immediately remembered the best (and only) thing worth a damn the governement has done in the last couple years: The National Do Not Call List.

Of course it takes about a month for you to get on the list. Which means I’m going to have to live with people pestering me for the next month. Now I’m guessing most of you are on the list now, so you probably haven’t had the pleasure of these calls, but I swear that they’ve gotten more aggressive since the Do Not Call thing went into effect. These guys just don’t take no for an answer. I’ve had to just hang up on them. They make you feel guilty for not wanting to buy a newspaper you’ll never read. The bastards.

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Jimmy! Adja! Jimmy! Adja! [updated]

If you haven’t already gotten M.I.A.’s new album, Kala, you should, because it is probably the best album that’s come out so far this year. If you have heard the album you are probably familiar with my favorite track on it, Jimmy. Turns out this was actually a remake of a Bollywood song from the film Disco Dancer. Of course, I have a video for you:

(UPDATE)
And now watch the actually pretty badass M.I.A. remake video!

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Reason #269 to Love the Japanese:

Anyone who can explain what exactly the point of all this was wins a prize.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment