Random Thoughts

As I was driving home this just popped into my head: “Do you think the U-Haul truck factory is constantly picking up and moving to new towns?”

As I finished watched season one of Dexter these thoughts ran though my mind:

Damn, this is a good show.

Do you think CBS will run season two as well soon? I know I could just buy it or Netflix it, but I kind of like watching it weekly in HD. Feels like I’m watching the real thing.

Dexter is a mature, pay-cable show from Showtime on CBS, and yet all they edit out of the broadcast is the language. What does it say about our society that it is ok to show bloodbaths and severed limbs, but you can’t say shit or fuck?

Related topic: Why do I get more embarrassed discussing having sex with a hooker in Grand Theft Auto 4 than I do the act of killing her to get my money back?

Related related topic: Why do I talk about such things in the first place?

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Movie Note

To those who are going to see Iron Man: First, it’s pretty darn good. And second, you should stay through the credits. Especially if you are a comic nerd.

Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Diary Entry for Thursday, May 1st, 2008

Woke up.

Ate breakfast.

Remembered that it was the first of the month and I forgot to pay the rent.  

Throw on pants, write check, run across street to pay rent.

Turn on Grand Theft Auto 4.

… 

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

In Defense of Juno

I read this mini movie review on Defective Yeti and felt the need to reprint it on my blog (which some might remember used to house a great number of movie reviews from yours truly, but I digress) because I think it accurately reflects both my view of the film and that of the many people I’m now talking to who have just seen it because it was recently released on DVD:

“Aww, why the hate? Yes, it was aggressively quirky, but I still liked it twice as much as Little Miss Sunshine, to which it was often compared. I mean, at least this film was about a real issue (teen pregnancy), instead of a bunch of dilemmas as zanyfied as the characters themselves (I can’t be a pilot because I’m color-blind, waaa!). I guess this is one of these deals where hipsters liked it when it was largely unknown, but then when it got popular and started winning things they decided it must actually suck (see also: Barak Obama).” 

I know, Matthew, like totally!  Almost everyone I talk to lately hated Juno, to which I too ask: “Why all the hate?”  Beyond the unbearably quirky dialogue (seriously, never mind real people–do people in movies even talk like this?) Juno was a movie actually about something with something real to say, a movie that pro-lifers and pro-choicers could both love equally.  It had heart and joy and was fun to watch.  And everyone hates it.  And yet Little Miss Sunshine, a cookie-cutter cliche of the “indie comedy” if I’ve ever seen one, THAT people love.  That right there is the root cause of why we had to suffer through 8 years of Bush, people.

Yeah, that’s right.  I said it.  Deal with it.

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Pity This Fool

I didn’t think anyone could be more awkward rapping than Debbie Harry in Blondie’s Rapture, but here comes Mr. T to prove me wrong. Thanks Mr. T!

To his credit, this is awesome.

[Edit: In doing research for this post (YES, I do research) I discovered that Blondie’s Rapture is no longer in my iTunes. I never delete anything from iTunes. If that doesn’t tell you my love for that song, I don’t think anything else can.]

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Reason #458 to Love the Japanese:

Oh hell yes, Japanese. I love you.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | 1 Comment

Writer’s Block: Back in Time

I love history and it would be great to see Rome in its heyday or see the Crusades, but when it comes down to it, it is all about the dinosaurs. How cool would it be to see a T-Rex in action?

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Zombies + Dancing + Claymation = Fun

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I had to share

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I Admit It, I Do Love the 80’s

VH1’s I Love the 80’s is probably the greatest TV show ever. Whenever VH1 runs a marathon you can just count on not talking to me for a while. I don’t know what it was about the 80’s that gave it that unique status of having hated living through them but then remembering back on them so fondly.

It doesn’t hurt that I’m madly in love with Rachael Harris either:

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment