Tragedy Strikes…

Yesterday I was looking at my MySpace bulletin board when I saw a message that Sasha and Digweed were touring America together for like the first time in six years. This got me excited beyond belief, since I’ve been wanting to see these two perform since 2000. So I rushed over to the pre-order site and purchased my ticket with giddy excitement.

Something about the date of the show bothered me, though. April 22nd. Why does that sound familiar? I went through my two other concert tickets and there it was. Hot Chip. April 22nd. At the OTHER Showbox location. fuck Fuck FUCK!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Because I Love Bollywood Music and Stupid YouTube Videos:

I saw this video in college and instantly fell in love with it:

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

HD DVD Officially Dead

Well, I guess it is official today. HD-DVD is dead. Recently Best Buy, Netflix and Walmart all announced that they were switching exclusively to Blu-ray, which after Warner Brothers jumped ship was the final nail in that coffin. Toshiba is calling it quits. Which is a shame, because by all accounts HD-DVD was the better format. Much like Sony’s Playstation 3 comparision to XBox 360, having the more impressive specs doesn’t exactly translate into a better product. Let’s just hope that with Blu-ray now being the sole format they can work on making it better so that everyone can get a Blu-ray player and enjoy that HD goodness.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Lord of the Rings – SWEDED!

Last night I got to see an advanced screening of Be Kind Rewind, the new Michel Gondry film starring Jack Black and Mos Def, which comes out next Friday. While it starts a little slow, once it gets going the film is a blast. You should definitely check it out.

In the meantime, you should learn about “Swedeing”. To Swede a movie is to take a popular Hollywood movie and make your own crappy home video version of it using your friends. The Sweded films in Be Kind Rewind are really funny and when I went on YouTube this morning I was surprised to see how many fan-made Sweded films there already are out there, before the film has even been released.

Probably the best one I’ve seen, and the only one so far on the official Be Kind Rewind website, is the following version of the Fellowship of the Ring. After watching this you won’t think that it is so farfetched that the consumers in the film Be Kind Rewind would be so willing to rent these homemade movies. Enjoy!

Part 1

Part 2

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

ROBOT DANCE OFF!!!

Is it just me, or does this remind you too of a messed up Dawn of the Dead outtake/acid trip?

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Two vastly different songs I’m currently loving, and you should check out

This video is so funky that it just can’t be stopped. Great use of beats and old clips from the Muppet Show. Trust me, you’ll dig it.

And yes, I am disturbed at how much I enjoy music like this:

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Feel bad feeling good

This is one of those videos that you hate yourself for watching over and over and over…

…and yet you just keep watching it anyway. Because it is frakin’ hilarious.

[EDIT: Is it odd that I feel that the internet was invented just for this, free music and porn?]

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Grammys

I don’t know if ya’ll caught Amy Winehouse on the Grammys the other night, but I have to say, Damn girl! Despite all the recent escapades, she reminded me why I fell in love with that record in the first place. One of the best live performances that I’ve seen on TV, easy.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Gotta Love the News

Videos like this help explain why I think that the main thing that’s wrong with America today isn’t our government–which, let’s face it, is always going to be fucked–but our media.

Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

What’s New?

So the Superbowl was fantastic this year. It all came down to the final seconds, and you have to give it to the Patriots: Whenever they are in the Superbowl it always turns out to be a great game (even if they lose).

Watching my first Superbowl in HD the thing I noticed the most was how much better the Halftime show was. I’m used to years of watching a small grainy picture with mediocre to just plain horrible sound. Suddenly I’m right there at the stadium, with crystal clear 5.1 sound, and Tom Petty’s performance was so dead on to his studio recordings that I questioned whether or not the concert was pre-recorded. I don’t think it was, which says a lot about how cool watching it in HD is. Finally you get to really see what the hell the fuss is about.

In other news, my latest obsession is music blogs. Since moving to Seattle my greatest obsession switched from movies to music and my collection has grown exponentially. To prove my point, I just bought a 160GB iPod because I didn’t have enough space anymore on my 80GB. Someone at work mentioned that they always wondered what kind of crazy person needs a 160GB iPod. You’re looking at that crazy person.

Anyway, a friend linked me to a music blog, which was a big mistake because I then proceeded to basically download everything that wasn’t nailed down. I can’t get enough new music. I want to know what’s cool and new eons before anyone else. Sometimes I think I don’t even know what I know.

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment