Deep Burning Question

Does anyone know WHY our hair keeps growing? Seriously, can you think of any other animal whose hair will keep growing their entire lives? What kind of evolutionary advancement do you think cause it?

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Things I learned today

According to the trailers I saw in front of the movie I watched today, approximately fourteen thousand movies are openning this Christmas.

It is really hard to not look stupid walking up the first few steps of a stopped escalator.

Bubbles is on Heroes!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Some Videos

Just give you a taste of Cut Copy’s Lights and Music live:

And here is the literal version of A-Ha’s Take On Me:

Posted in Music Videos | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Greatest Show On Earth

Last night felt like one of the greatest nights of my life.

I’ve been going to a bunch of concerts since moving to Seattle. Some were pretty good, some so-so. There were some where I actually didn’t have that great a time. Can’t win them all, right?

Last night was one of those concerts that I wasn’t particularly excited to go see. In fact I almost didn’t go. Kevin and John said they were going though and as I prefer to see a concert with someone I went along too. That was a good decision.

If you get a chance to see The Presets and Cut Copy in concert, don’t miss it. I’ve never had so much fun at a show before. It was the right night, I was in the right mood, it was the right venue and I had just the right amount of buzz going into the show.

I had been listening to the Presets for several years now, but they were never one of my favorite bands. Cut Copy was pretty new to me, and although I liked what I heard, I didn’t really listen to them a lot (mainly because of all of the damn music I go through on a weekly basis).

It’s hard to explain the atmosphere, the vibe of the show. It felt like everyone at the Market was in sync. It’s the closest thing I’ve ever felt to a collective consciousness, a group of many being one all at once. You couldn’t wipe the smile off of my face. It was a dance party. It was everything I’ve ever wanted from electronic music ever since I discovered it.

I loved how foreign and familiar it all felt at the same time. You get that when you listen to Australians play New Wave music. This was kind of what my dreams are like. And you can’t tell me that anyone at the show didn’t have a great time.

If you haven’t already picked it up, buy Cut Copy’s new CD. You won’t regret it. I haven’t stopped listening to it since last night.

The Presets were so good I didn’t think there was any way for Cut Copy to compete. Already at that point I thought that I was at the best show I’d ever been to. But then Cut Copy, god bless them, came out on stage and started playing. They would start off with these slow build ups and then suddenly BAM you were in the song. Everyone went nuts. Such a positive experience. I don’t even know how to express it in words, I’m just rambling…

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

SNL

Last night’s Saturday Night Live was unusually consistantly funny for them and I wanted to share just two of my favorite skits. First up is Mark Wahlberg Talks to Animals, which I’m sorry, but if you don’t find this funny, I’m not sure that we can be friends.

Next up is a digital short, of course, Extreme Activities Challange. Some people might not get Andy Samberg’s demented genius of stupidity, but I love it. Everyone go out and rent Hot Rod right now.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | 2 Comments

Zombie Watch

I totally saw a homeless guy in the back of an ambulance tonight who looked like he could have been turning into a zombie. Don’t say I didn’t warn you…

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Sign Wisdom

I’m driving to work the other day and I notice that the license plate on the car in front of me is from Washington DC (I love seeing cars in Seattle that don’t have either Washington or Oregon state plates). I’m about to look away and go about my day when I notice what the state motto on the bottom of the plate says:

“Taxation Without Representation”

Oh! Well, that explains a lot. I always thought it was NO Taxation without Representation. I bet if people knew it was the other way around they would be a lot less pissed about what the government was doing…

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Army of Lovers

I haven’t posted a video in a while and I think it was because I was waiting for just this one. Enjoy the madness…

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Billy Dee Killed My Blog

Is it possible for a movie to have a “twist” ending if you can figure it out before the movie starts?

On a whim (and because I had nothing better to do) I went to go see Righteous Kill today. The movie isn’t horrible by any means and DeNiro is particularly cool and understated in his role, but the screenplay? Lazy! A movie like this needs to be eased into slowly and let the mystery build up in the background before you let the audience know that everything they see might not be as it seems. You don’t tell people to look for the twist in the first frame! Please, you could see this one coming from a mile away.

In fact, I issue a challenge. Not that I recommend you go see this movie, but IF YOU DO, I will pay for your movie ticket if you can watch the whole movie and then honestly tell me that you didn’t guess the twist ending before it happened. I expect my money to stay firmly in my wallet (unlike my credit card which mysteriously (not really) disappeared right before I tried to return a sweater. Damn you again, Comcast!)

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Yummy!

 
A long time ago and a bar far, far away…

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments