You’re not even safe asleep in your beds…

Last night I had a dream where a friend (?) shot me with a dart (??) filled with LSD (???). Now, I’ve never actually done a hallucinogen before, but I’m pretty sure my brain did a really good job of approximating the experience. What was really cool at first started to really freak me out, as reality drained further and further away from me. I can’t even begin to describe what it was like. I’d never had a dream like that before. Every time I turned my head the sky would change colors. Everything in general was just really fraked up. It got so freaky that I woke myself up. Part of me wished that I had kept going with the dream. The other part of me was just so glad it was over. Your brain is a crazy thing.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

TV Watch

TUESDAY

Gilmore Girls:

There was a joke in this episode that Miss Patty thought that there was something different about the newly opened Luke’s restaurant and Luke over and over yelled (because that’s all he knows how to do) that nothing was different. It was a self-aware joke on the writers’ part, but one wonders how true it really is. After Amy Sherman-Palladino left the show this season something has seemed just a little…off. Yeah, it looks and feels just like the old Gilmore Girls, but is it? Am I to believe that Lorelai would fall for Christopher so easily after breaking up with Luke? One night stand mistake of a lifetime, sure, but going out on a date? And Rory? Give that girl something to do. When the biggest stress in her life is texting dirty messages to her newly adopted Brit boyfriend, something’s wrong. That said, whenever you have an episode with the elder Gilmores (specifically Emily), it tends to be one of the best episodes of the season.

Veronica Mars:

Veronica, the sorority girl? Sign me up! Oh, I love this show. I only wish that Wallace’s and Logan’s subplot involving the timely topic of prisoner torture had something to do with Veronica. I love Wallace and everything, but come on. You all know why I watch this show.

WEDNESDAY

America’s Next Top Model:

Yep, still love this show. My favorite right now? Caridee. She’s funny, hot, and knows how to take a fierce photo. Also, even though I thought it extremely stupid that the awkward, basketball-playing twins should even be in this competition, I’m quickly growing on the fact that somehow, week after week, their photos look fantastic. In person they are even starting to look better. I just wish the judges would now give them a picture assignment that allowed them to do something different from the other one. Come on, Siamese twins? I know we were all thinking it, but why not give the girls something different to do so that we can actually figure out which is which.

What’s nice is that after crazy Mo’ left last week it left room for half of the remaining girls to pull out their own crazy! You’ve got to love that. I also love that the cool “Rock n’ Roll!” girl stayed and the lame “Rock n’ ROLL!” girl left. I was so tired of her.

Lost:

Not as good as the season premiere, but still damn good. Hell, if it was better than the premiere we would be looking at the greatest show to ever grace television at this point (and we all know that that couldn’t be, as that show is called Battlestar Galatica). We learned a little more about Sun (I personally thought her part of the story was dreadfully dull, although Jun’s part…) and learned even less about who the Others are and what they want with the Castaways. Ben mentioned he’s lived there all of his life. Are they from another dimension, or has time slowed down on the island? That could be the only way to explain how Trixie from Deadwood got on the island…

The Nine:

I officially don’t give a shit about this show anymore. I want to know what happened in the bank. It appears the show isn’t going to tell me. That combined with the fact that everything after the robbery is far this side of boring means that I give up. I only like one character, that of Audry from 24, and honestly, I only like her because she was on 24. If only Jack could run in, hold a gun to everyone’s head, and yell at them to stop being pussies. That would make me tune in again next week. As it is, I just can’t do three straight hours of TV with commercials.

THURSDAY

Survivor:

I’m pretty sure that I will always love this show. This is also the only reality show that I want to be on THIS BAD. I could so win it, that is if I could physically survive the first day. Anyway, this week the men start working on the weak tribe, only to win a lame reward challenge and then suck it up again when it came time for Immunity. I liked the Immunity challenge. Anyone could have won it, and that’s what made it a nail biter.

If anything this show teaches you to watch what you say. When the week before you say that you should go home, but don’t really mean it, and then this week you mention that you’d really like to eat some mashed potatoes and gravy TONIGHT when your tribemate is talking about voting someone else out, you can’t really be surprised when everyone wants you out, even if you, again, didn’t mean it. People get rid of others for the stupidest reasons in this game. You’ve got to be on every second if you want to win, dammit!

Grey’s Anatomy:

Good episode. I liked all the stuff with McDreamy, McSteamy, McVet (who knew he could talk!) and McMorphine (my new name for Meredith). I kind of wonder what is up with George lately. He seems about as into his new girlfriend as he was with that nurse he dated last season. Can’t the guy have a love interest that he’s in love with, and is in love him back? It’s either one or the other with this guy.

My Name is Earl:

I still like this show, and it was fun to have a little “Time after Time” time with Randy. But it still nowhere near compares to our next show:

The Office:

Every show it seems that I say that this one was funnier than the last. And although it almost is never actually true, the genius of the show is that at least it feels that way. I laugh SO hard. Every week. As long as I have the Office I’ll never be sick, through the powers of positive thinking laughter healing. This week Michael gets all upset when his old boss died, mainly because he has his old boss’ job now and no one cares that he died, ie no one cares if Michael died. You’ve got to love a guy that gives a Viking funeral to a dead bird just so that he knows that he’s loved.

Meanwhile Jim flirts it up with Karen, AKA New-Pam. And she really likes him. And I somehow really like her. I hope this works out, at least for the near future or until Pam realizes that she really does love Jim. Which doesn’t look likely to happen, as her ex-fiancee is about twenty times more sweet and interesting post- being dumped than he ever was before. That’s OK. That gives us more Karen time. If only I could find a girl that smiled at me like she did Jim after shooting him in the face last week. This week it was a chip crusade. Karen had to get a project done, ASAP, and Jim was chosen as her project manager, which meant that the two of them had to track down the most impossible chip to find in the universe before they could start doing real work. (Seriously, not even in Montreal?) And lucky for the two of them, there seems to be a new Dwight, too.

(Dwight’s best moment had to be when he argued the merits of building a robot statue with Michael while Jan was still on the phone with them. He even drew a picture of a robot with a six-foot extension cord power supply attached so that the robot couldn’t kill us all. That Dwight, man. He is so thoughtful.)

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sign Wisdom

I thought this one was kind of a cute play on words:

“Patience carries a lot of wait.”

And here is the one I mentioned last week that I saw in front of a church in Manchester and then promptly forgot. I wrote it down this time on my drive home from work…in the dark.

“Open on Sunday.
Visitors expected.”

The lengths I’ll go to for you people. Anyway, I wasn’t (and still am not) really sure how to read that. Is it tongue in cheek? Is it being really snarky? I don’t know. It wasn’t a Roman Catholic Church, so you can rule out good ol’ Catholic Guilt. Still, I don’t know what it means.

I prefer to see it as a threat.

It also goes really well with my theory that most things sound better when you add the word “bitch!” to the end of the sentence.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Birds of a Feather

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Birds of a Feather, originally uploaded by themaneatingcow23.

It’s that time of year. That time when all the leaves change funky colors in the Northeast before making their final swan song with a long journey to the earth. Vermont, I think, got screwed out of their Fall this year. Don’t get me wrong. It’s way better than last year, yeah, but that’s not saying much. They peaked early up around Manchester, leaving us with a lot of unexciting yellows. New York is actually a lot better, peaking right now. There is this pond on Route 7 in Pittstown or Pittsfield, I can never remember which is which, with some of the most beautiful reds and oranges that I’ve ever seen. It’s stunning. I wish I had my camera with me today.

None of my shots of the actual colors around my house came out that great, so I’m including this shot instead. I took a lot of close up shots and long shots when wandering around outside, and what do you know, the close ups came out a lot better. This picture is of the birdbath in the small flower garden in front of the house. I like how it came out.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

It wasn’t just me…

Proof that I’m not crazy, in this week’s new Rolling Stone Hot Issue, they nominate Dane Cook Hot Not Funny. I could not agree more. Why is this dude funny, again?

And just to prove a point, they also have a place for Veronica Mars’ Kristen Bell as Hot Nancy Drew.

–HOT UPDATE–

I posted too soon. Also included in the issue is a Hot Guest List from the hotest TV receptionist out there, The Office’s own Jenna Fischer. The final Hot item on her list is Hot Spouse:

“My husband, James Gunn. Not only did he direct Slither, the most kickass horror movie of the year, he also helped me write this list. For that, I promised him either a blow job or I’d put him on the list. And, well, I’m tired.”

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Coolest…Movie…Trailer…Ever

I cannot stop watching this trailer for Frank Miller’s 300.  From the amazing visuals to the perfect editing to the fantastic use of a damn cool Nine Inch Nails song I now know that I MUST see this movie NOW.  Too bad it’s not out until March of next year.  I love the Frank Miller comic, about the 300 Spartans that stood alone against thousands of invading Persians and actually held them off until they were betrayed, giving the rest of the Greek’s enough time to summon their own armys, thus saving Greece and Western Civilization.  The comic is beautiful and amazingly written, and it looks like 300 might be the closest comic book adaptation yet.  Stunning.  I’m floored.  And you can bet I’ll be first in line to see 300.  Do yourself a favor and watch that trailer.  If you’re anything like me you won’t be able to watch it just once.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I know, stupid question

Why do The Smiths always sound so much better in the Fall?

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sign Watch

My sister sent me this one via email:

‘On my way past a church in Moravia, I read: “Can’t sleep? Try counting your blessings.”‘

Imagine the poor bastard who becomes an insomniac after he discovers that he can’t get above eight.

I had a good one myself, but I didn’t write it down immediately and, of course, now I can’t remember the exact wordage. I’ll try and get that tomorrow for you, if I can.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Blast from the Past: My Lead Meeting Scavenger Hunt

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }

Not much time to blog tonight. I’ve got so much crap to do. Seeing the Strokes tomorrow, coupled with coming back from a weeklong trip means I’ve got stacks of things I’ve got to get through.

So I thought I’d upload this old photo I found on the administrator (huh?) log-in on our downstairs computer at work from my Lead Meeting trip to Delaware last year that you may remember me rambling on about.

Yes, that is me and a bunch of the other Leads in our district standing in front of a dolphin dressed like a drunk Irish clown. We were doing a scavenger hunt, and one of the items was to get a picture in front of like three or four of these dolphins painted up like different things all around Rehoboth. Unfortunately I don’t think this was the photo we took in front of Hooters. I have no idea where that photo went. We didn’t go into Hooters, but we did ask a guy waiting outside with his doggie bag how hot the girls were inside. Staring straight ahead, a small smile grew up his face as he muttered only two words: “They’re hot.” (Can a contraction be counted as one word?)

Another fun thing to note in this photograph: How damn skinny I look! Seriously, it looks like my body is drooping over from the weight of my giant head. In reality I was just moving out of the way so that you could see everyone’s face in the photo. But that skinnyness might also have something to do with the fact that in this picture I had eaten almost nothing for about three days straight. So yeah, there’s that.

Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

TV Watch

So, Lost had its season premiere tonight.

Was that totally batshit crazy, or what? I can’t wait to find out what the Others are really up to. That openning scene was fantastic. I usually don’t much care for Sawyer, but he made me a life long fan tonight. His moment with Kate was perfect. Everything is just so darn weird. Count me in full force this season. I’m hooked, as always.

The Nine was interesting. I’m still not sure I buy into all of the hype the show is getting, but the premise holds promise. I’ll be really interested to see where this one goes.

Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments