The Freak In Me

Early in the morning at work I shift my weight a little, waiting for the next customer to come walking in the door. And as I do so, “POP!” My belt buckle falls right off of my belt. It is one of those reversible ones where you can twist the buckle to make it into a brown belt, and vice versa. And it just snaps right off. I did almost nothing to promote this either. I just stood there, looking down at my belt, baffled. After several minutes of fruitlessly pushing the two pieces together, hoping that suddenly they will magically decide they like each other again and stick, I have to give up.

I go back to the sales floor, sans belt. And let me tell you, I was not happy about that. Something really weird happened inside of me. I got extremely upset about the fact that I wasn’t wearing a belt. I mean, really upset. Emotionally distraught, you could say. It couldn’t have been worse if I somehow managed to make it into work with no pants on. I felt naked, both figuratively and literally. And I felt like a loser idiot who doesn’t know that you wear a belt with dress pants. I was seriously having trouble functioning at all at work.

So I went across the street and bought a $20 belt from Bass. And even despite the fact that I just dropped $20 unexpectedly on a belt in the middle of the day, just putting it on made me feel a million times better. I was a new man. I was able to do my job again. What a weird feeling. It’s silly, but I think I was about to have a panic attack over a silly belt. I’ve had this feeling before. I once went to the bank in jeans, but forgot to put my belt on before I left the house. I almost considered going back, even though no one would probably even see me.

I guess you could say that my mom did a really good job teaching me how to dress myself.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Of Beck and Lebanon

From the new Rolling Stone I learned that Beck has a new album coming out October 3rd, called The Information. As I was reading about it (which sounds like another crazy Beck album) I got to the part where it said, “The disc comes with a blank cover…” which made me groan. How many more artists are going to put out albums with blank covers, I thought? So lame! The Beatles did it, it was a huge hit, but copying them again is just silly. Then I kept reading, “…that fans can customize with included stickers–an idea that captures the mix-and-match flavor of the project.” Now wait there just a minute… That sounds kind of cool! Make your own CD cover. Now there is an idea. Every CD can be different. That’s kind of far out.

Also in that Rolling Stone was an article about the current situation between Israel and Lebanon that just made me angry. The United States media sucks. Just about every major media outlet blamed Lebanon for starting the current conflict, citing the kidnapping of the two Israeli soldiers as the start of the fight. But in fact,

“There were at least three Israeli missile strikes on Palestinians in the weeks before the June Hamas raid, killing as many as twenty people and injuring nearly fifty, most of them women and children. And there was intense fighting across the Lebanese border by both sides in May.”

Why don’t we hear about any of this? Because our government likes to use our ignorance of the Middle East to inflame renewed racism towards the Muslim “terrorists” that hoard “our” oil. We might not like the Jews, but at least they aren’t Muslims. The Jews are our buffer between them and us.

What also really makes you think is: What technically is the definition of a “terrorist”? So far in this current conflict there are “around 1,150 dead in Lebanon, mostly civilians, mostly women and children; 160 killed by Hezbollah, mostly soldiers; and 900,000 displaced Lebanese, out of a country of nearly 4 million.” So wait a minute, who are the terrorists here, really? Lebanon is a very Western democratic country where only ten percent of the government is run by Hezbollah. “Surely a quarter of the people are not terrorists. Its old women and its children are not terrorists. If they are, the definition of terrorism itself has genocidal connotations.” It makes me think of all my studies on Nazi Germany’s treatment of the Jews. Or, for that matter, our treatment of the Iraqis, who have technically done nothing to us to make us so pissed off at them.

I sit here most days thinking. “Why does our country suck so much”, I wonder? If only things could be decided by a make-your-own-cover sticker album.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The MUST LIST [With a Bonus: Movie Average Statistics!]

Alright! Some of you may recall that I started up a Must List two months back where I sorted out all of the billion or so movies I see every month and distilled that down to five easy bit size nuggets. That way you don’t have to sort through all of my reviews (or lack thereof, as it seems more and more like lately) to find those few choice gems that I really like and think you would too. These are my favorites. Do with them what you will.

July never got put up last month as was supposed to be tradition because, well, dammit, I saw a lot of great movies in July. It was really hard coming up with just five choices, so I procrastinated and procrastinated and what do you know, it never got done. Finally I just told myself to cut the crap and did it, now that August has come and gone. Just know that Mean Creek and The Honeymoon Killers were THIS CLOSE to making the list…

JULY
May
Mysterious Skin
Tristram Shandy: A Cock & Bull Story
Little Dieter Needs to Fly
Ghost Dog: The Way of the Samurai

AUGUST
The Barbarian Invasions
The Descent
The War Game
Ginger Snaps
Kicking and Screaming

There! With that done, let’s get to some more boring crap.

I know some of you love my crazy movie statistics, so let’s see what I’ve been up to the last two months.

In JULY, I saw:

TOTAL: 61
IN THEATERS: 7
FOR THE FIRST TIME: 57

And in AUGUST, I saw:

TOTAL: 42
IN THEATERS: 8
FOR THE FIRST TIME: 39

You may remember that my previous record for most movies seen in a month was 50. So, uh, yeah…July I really kicked that record’s ass. In celebration I decided to take a break in August and had a [relatively] slow month.

No, you don’t have to say it.

Yes, I know I’m insane.

How about for the year? Where do I stand so far?

TOTAL: 360
IN THEATERS: 39
FOR THE FIRST TIME: 325

I know what you’re thinking. Aren’t there only 365 days in a year? And how many months have gone by so far? Again, don’t write me, I know I’m insane. And just to prove it, let’s look at where I was in the past three years at this point:

2003: 204
2004: 233
2005: 278

That’s 82 more movies I’ve seen this year than last. Just wrap your head around that number for a minute.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Relaxing Grooves

There is just something about the dark and stormy weather of early Fall that makes music sound better.

We haven’t really gotten much rain up here. A little. Not much. Lots of wind, though. Temperature dropped quite a bit. I let the dogs out tonight and you could see the clouds just cooking past the moon. It was beautiful.

Work was…busy. Good, but busy. Couldn’t wait to get home. Couldn’t wait to find my new digital camera in the mail along with the new Entertainment Weekly and the Fall TV Preview. Neither was actually in the mail. That made me sad. Now I’ve got to wait until Tuesday.

I just love music.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Beer Commercial Wisdom

There is this beer commercial on now that flips back and forth between a group of guy friends sitting around, watching a game and not saying anything to each other and a group of girl friends together all chatting and gossiping. After my last trip to Harry’s I could not agree with the profound meaning of this commercial more.

Harry is the one friend around here I still see on a regular basis. We try to get together once a week and see a movie at Crossgates. Afterwards, or if there is nothing good playing, we go over to his house to hang out for the rest of the day. Usually hanging out consists of watching another movie, watching the glories of cable, or playing either Tekken or Halo. The only time we seem to talk is when we are eating (that is, of course, if we aren’t already eating in front of the TV).

My parents ask me what’s new with my friends all the time. Usually, unfortunately, I have no idea. I’m really not good at digging that sort of stuff out unless it is at least partially volunteered. But when I got to thinking about it though, I don’t really care. Just being around a friend, laughing at the same stupid shit, constitutes “quality time” for me. Even though nothing ever exciting happens, it is surprising how irritable I tend to get when I haven’t seen Harry in a few weeks.

It’s an odd thing, being a man.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Yep, I’m weird

I have a large closet in my bedroom filled wall to wall with clothes. I also have a large dresser (with the drawers lined with wrapping paper from my very own baby shower) in my bedroom, filled with clothes. I never open my closet or my dresser. Well, that’s not true. I do hide my underwear away in the top drawer of the dresser. But otherwise? Nope, they don’t open. Do I walk around naked? Where the hell are all of my clothes then? Downstairs on a rack next to the washing machine. I don’t know why, but I refuse to use what’s actually available to me in my room. Might have something to do with the giant piles of junk in front of everything though…

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Nobody likes a blonde in a hampster ball

So I did it.  I saw all of Season Two of Veronica Mars in three days.  And it was FANTASTIC.  Sooooo good.  I feel all warm and fuzzy inside.  And best yet, I’m all prepared for the season premiere of Season Three!  Score for me!  I can’t wait to see what happens next.

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Just because I’m video happy today

If you are watching the VMAs tonight, this will be performed live:

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sneaking one in at work [Updated]

The controversy of the day is that Kanye West thinks that the best music video of the year never got nominated for the MTV Music Video Awards.  That video, unfortunately, is his.  I watched the video on YouTube.  It kind of sucks.  Great idea, but the video is boring.  Kayne West is really getting on my nerves.  I love his music but his personality is one of the most annoyingly arrogant out there.

Now here is a kick ass music video from Muse:

Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Best…Order…Ever

I order a lot on Amazon (you may have had your suspicions…) It is not unusual for me to receive one or more boxes from them in a week. I tell you this because it adds a little to what I say next. Today I got one of the all-time greatest boxes from Amazon, ever. Seriously, it doesn’t get much better than what I got today. What was included? I thought you’d never ask:

–Arrested Development: Season Three. It is criminal that they canceled Arrested Development in the middle of this season, especially since this final half season was genius, so genius that it made the other two genius seasons look like they failed basic algebra. One has only to watch the episode entitled “MR F” to know what I’m talking about. I could explain it to you, but actually seeing it is so much better (and a lot less confusing).

–Double Indemnity. I’ve been looking for this Billy Wilder classic on DVD ever since I started buying DVDs. The release date has been pushed back so many times that it has made this poor boy cry. Finally, I have a copy in my hands. It’s time to revisit this amazing film, finally.

–The Tick VS. Season One. Not unlike Double Indemnity, I’ve been looking for the original The Tick Fox cartoon on DVD since before I even knew what DVD was. I LOVE this cartoon. It’s genius. And it came at a very critical point in my life. I was becoming a teenager and it was no longer really acceptable for the highlight of your week to be Saturday morning cartoons. You had to grow up. Move on. Think about girls and weird hair growing on your body and stuff like that. At that exact same moment, The Tick aired on Fox. I think it was on at 11:30. This was something different. Sure, it looked like a kids’ cartoon, but the jokes were more adult. The premise was one giant joke on Superheroes and you were in on that joke. That and the show was insanely quotable. I need only remember one line and I break out laughing. If you’ve never seen this, you owe it to yourself to pick up a copy. I got it on Amazon for $20. I’d gladly pay three times that. Just don’t tell the people who put this out.

And finally…

–Marvel Zombies. A Marvel comic about an alternate universe where all the world’s heroes are zombies. The comic is about the zombies. Not the survivors. The zombies. I’m still waiting for the part where this isn’t cool.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment