Fun with Flickr and my Digital Camera

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }

So I started a Flickr account so that I could upload all of my pretty, pretty pictures for all of you lovely people to enjoy. It’ll take a while though, as my dialup internet isn’t all that friendly towards large pictures files. But I digress.

When you walk out my front door, this is what you see. Pretty, no? Wait until Fall finally hits us in force…

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Older and wiser (I hope)

I turned 25 just over two weeks ago. Around the time of your birthday, people (usually those older than you) like to ask you if you feel any older. This year was one of the first times I could honestly say, yes, I feel older. I’m not sure what it is. I just see the world differently. Things aren’t so black and white anymore. Everything’s gray. Things that seemed important, aren’t. Things you never thought you’d care about, you do.

I was deeply reminded of this watching TV tonight. CBS was doing their tribute to 9/11, with a 60 Minutes episode all about the attacks, followed by the 9/11 documentary made by the two French brothers who just happened to be making a documentary about a NYC firehouse when the World Trade Centers were hit. I never watched the documentary when it originally aired. Like most people, I was glued to the TV after the planes hit. After days of constant exposure I was sick of it. It made me nauseous.

I remember exactly what I was doing when I heard the news. It’s funny, everyone always plays that game, the game where you ask questions like: “Where were you when you heard that JFK was shot?” 9/11 is the first and I think only event in my life like that where I can honestly remember everything about that day. I had just gotten up sometime after nine and lazily rolled out of bed, knowing that I didn’t have to go to class until 1 that afternoon. My morning rituals usually consisted of aimlessly surfing the internet and eating. Then Charlotte came, slamming her fist against my door before just letting herself in. I thought she just had another wasp in her room and wanted me to kill it. Instead she seemed almost insulted that I didn’t know what was going on in the world. Sorry, I don’t usually start my day off by watching Fox morning programming.

She told me that planes had flow into both Towers and the Pentagon. As I was still waking up it took me a while to process this information. I remembered the last time terrorists tried to bomb the World Trade Center and just assumed that this was like that. It was the whole Pentagon thing that troubled me. What did that mean? While I recognized that this was obviously a tragedy, the scope of it didn’t really make an impact on me. It wasn’t until Charlotte practically dragged me back to her room to watch the live coverage and I actually saw the footage that things first started to sink in. Tower Two was already down. And then, not minutes after I started watching, Tower One fell right before my eyes. That scared me.

I watched TV all day until around maybe nine that night when I felt like puking and decided to turn it off. Of course they kept looping the footage for days. Watching this documentary tonight brought all of that back to me, but from a completely different perspective. Watching that I realized how much different I am from that guy in 2001. The world has changed. I have changed.

I find that I’m a lot less religiously minded than I once was. I used to think that I could find a common denominator in all the different religions that could bring us all back together. But all I see is more people killing other people in the name of religion. I went to church every Sunday as a kid. Why don’t I remember the “killing is OK” part? I try to think of religion a lot less lately. I’m angry, like I think God must be angry if he is out there looking down at us. If he really spoke to people thousands of years ago, do you think that this is what he had in mind? I think that if I were him and looked back on what I started, I probably would have kept my mouth shut. More and more Atheism looks less like a weak man’s way out, and more like a better solution. Those who deny evolution are denying one very important fact: that we are all still animals, most, if not all of the time. And those who deny evolution are the biggest animals of us all.

I’m just now reminded of the book Animal Farm. There’s a slogan in that book everyone remembers after reading it that was meant to describe Communism but can just as easily describe Religion. Hell, screw labels. It describes the human condition.

“All animals are created equal. Some are just more equal than others.”

I think I’m paraphrasing a bit, but you all get the idea.

[I was going to end my post there.  Looking back at it though, I found my insights at the end, how do we say?  Ah yes: A tad bit negative.  Instead I’d like to end it how Andy Rooney ended his segment tonight: “As Americans, instead of trying harder and harder to protect ourselves from outside threats, maybe we should instead take a minute to try and think why it is that so many people hate us so much.”]

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Monday Movie Review (Even I Think This Is Getting Ridiculous)

I’m trying my damnedest to get myself caught up on movie reviews, so that I don’t have to look at fourteen different stacks of DVDs every time I sit down at my computer.  And hey, I’m not doing too bad a job.  Aside from next week’s batch I’ve only got two stacks left.  I’ll keep on trucking and you, as always, enjoy the fruits of my madness:

(August 7)

——The Descent (2005)——

Great horror films are hard to come by. So rare that when you finally do find one, you want to shout it from the rooftops so that everyone else will see them. The Descent is one of those horror films. From the very beginning this British horror film outclasses all the competition. And in what is really a great sign, this movie is extremely terrifying BEFORE any of the supernatural stuff starts. If you are claustrophobic at all, this isn’t probably the best film for you to see on the big screen.

A group of adventure seeking Brit women meet in the Appalachia to go splunking in an out of the way cave on the side of a mountain. The backstory is that one of those women lost her daughter and husband in a freak auto accident the year before, and thus might not be entirely ready for this new adventure. They all go anyway. There is great writing for the women, sketching out all their personalities and relationships deftly and with precision so that we can get to the meat and potatoes of the film quicker. And oh, does it. This is one of those movies where the dread starts up almost immediately and just keep pouring it on you until the very end. The tunnel they are in caves in. Oh, and they aren’t in the charted cave their guide said they were in. This one is uncharted. Oh, and there just happen to be cannibal albino monster/men living in this particular cave. Oops. The hits just keep on coming.

I was knocked out and floored by The Descent. I know this movie is just destined to be remembered as a horror classic. If you like horror you better not hesitate to see this film.

(MUST SEE)

——Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story (2004)——

I had no expectations that this was going to be any good. I hadn’t heard of it anywhere before I saw that it was coming out on DVD and it didn’t get much of any press, which is never a good thing. All I knew was that it starred Rob Corddry of the Daily Show (sweet) and that it was a mockumentary of paintball. Paintball is filled with lots of comic potential, I thought, so this has got to be worth picking up. I just hope it doesn’t suck.

So you could say I was extremely surprised that Blackballed was a comic goldmine. Seriously folks, this movie is hilarious. If you are a fan of Christopher Guest movies and/or Anchorman/Talladega Nights then this is the movie that you need to put in your NetFlix queue right now. With a brilliantly hilarious, mostly improvised script, a funny cast, and some imaginative documentary-style camera work, Blackballed hits it out of the park.

Bobby Dukes (Corddry) was THE greatest paintball player that ever was. He was a legend, unstoppable. Then in one of the championship games it was caught wiping, AKA he got hit by a paintball and tried to wipe the paint off before the judge could see it and call him out. The judge caught him wiping though, and Bobby Dukes left the sport and his hometown in shame, never to be heard from for ten years time. [Side note: What is it about the name Bobby that is so funny? Between Bobby Dukes and Ricky Bobby you’ve got a bonanza of funny Bobby names. But moving on…] But Bobby Dukes does come back and he wants to get back into the sport that shunned him. Of course none of his old teammates, or anyone else for that matter, want to play with him, so coming up with a team is pretty tough. The oddball group he finally comes up with proves to be a comic goldmine.

There are some really funny bits in this movie. My favorite involves the entire sequence concerning their first qualifying match-up against some gangster wannabe Canadians. They start freestyling. It’s embarrassingly hilarious. Then, well, I’m not sure you can really call Canadian a race, but if you could, you are treated to the most racist rant against the Canadians that I have ever heard. Brilliant. Finally, there is the paintball match itself, which is absolutely the best recreation of Saving Private Ryan that I have seen in any film. I lost it, I was laughing so hard. Those looking for the next big comedy in a sea of unfunny crap need only look to Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story.

(MUST SEE)

——The War Game (1964)/Culloden (1963)——

The War Game and Culloden are two short experimental documentaries made for BBC television by director Peter Watkins, packaged on the same DVD.

Culloden is about the last major battle of the English pacification of the Highlanders on April 16, 1746, which also happened to be one of the biggest blunders and massacres in military history. The Scottish were so ineptly led that they walked an army day and night to a battlefield that easily gave advantage to the superiorly armed British. Once there the chain of communication was so broken down that the Scottish just stood there doing nothing under a constant barrage from British canons with no support for over a half hour, which effectively decimated most of their attack force. The survivors then made a blind charge into certain death with few weapons among them. To call it a disaster is a major understatement. Peter Watkins directs the film as if he were really there on the Culloden Moor shooting a real documentary, asking the participants questions about who they were, what they were thinking, and what they saw happen that day. All the while a voice over provides ancillary details to fill in the gaps and make sure we know what a tragedy it really was that day.

Culloden is great and a very effective anti-war statement at the start of the Vietnam conflict, but it pales in comparison to the controversial The War Game. The War Game, in a sense, is a preemptive documentary, showing the British people what would really happen if someone were to push the button and start a nuclear attack. MAD (Mutually Assured Destruction) is a very apt acronym for what would happen and the documentary is all about how woefully unprepared the British government would be for an attack, using their own words to do so, and about how catastrophic it would be the clueless British people. Using the town of Kent as an example, it goes step by step through what would happen if a nuclear war were to start and shows how easy it would be to get to that point. The images, although staged, are striking and powerful nonetheless. It’s frightening. Emotional. Graphic and horrifying. And the film will stay in the back of your mind long after you’ve finished the film. Culloden is take it or leave it, but The War Game is absolutely for anyone and everyone,

(MUST SEE)

(August 8)

——Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (2006)——

Talladega Night was made by the same team that brought you Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy, and in essence is pretty much Anchorman remade with NASCAR the focus instead of broadcast news. While it would normally follow that because of that fact this movie is supposed to suck, lucky for us that is nowhere near the case here. Instead, Talladega Nights does for NASCAR what, well, Anchorman did for broadcast news. I’m the hugest fan of Anchorman, so it should then follow that I’m also a huge fan of this too.

Ricky Bobby (oh I love you, Will Ferrell) as a kid took a small piece of advice from his absentee father, “If you’re not first, you’re last” to heart, and later in life when given the chance to drive his own NASCAR car he shows himself to be a natural, winning all the races, marrying the hottest fan, and racking up all the sponsors. Of course this attitude also makes him into a giant prick. His kids grow up to be brats and he constantly screws over his best friend and teammate (John C. Reilly) so that he can be number one. His manager is so fed up with Ricky Bobby’s freewheeling that he hires a gay French Formula One race car driver (Sacha Baron Cohen, also genius) to beat Ricky Bobby. And then when he gets into a spectacular car crash, everything Ricky Bobby thought he had vanishes. Ricky Bobby has to do some self discovering, learn how to be a good person and learn how to speed again (using a cougar!) so that he can win the big race. The gags are constant and always hilarious, but what really makes it work is how much respect Ferrell and director Adam McKay have for the characters and the sport. By not playing it cheap they come out to be the big winners in this film. And thus, this movie kicks some major ass. See it!

(MUST SEE)

——The City of Lost Children (1995)——

Director’s Jean-Pierre Jeunet (Amelie) and Marc Caro pepper this film with some astounding visuals. That’s the main draw of seeing this, bar none. The actual City in the City of Lost Children is a stylized masterpiece, being a cross somewhere between a 19th Century Parisian city and a town out of one of the later Final Fantasy games (I’m thinking 7ish). It’s a magical place where magical coincidental things happen all the time, much like in Amelie or Delicatessen. Everything is curious and childlike. Which is fitting, since this is a movie about children’s dreams.

A genius inventor creates friends to keep him company, including several dopey clones, a lab partner, a wife and a brain in a jar. The lab partner has a problem though. He can’t dream. So he gets rid of his creator and uses the rest of them to trap children so that he may enter their dreams and finally know what dreaming feels like. He’s so scary though that each of the children’s dreams turns into a nightmare, ruining it for him. Thus, he needs to find a child who is not afraid of him. Meanwhile, a circus strongman’s younger adopted brother is kidnapped for their nefarious plot and therefore he has to go out and find him. That strongman is played by a wonderful Ron Perlman as not the brightest guy in the world, but definitely the one with the biggest heart. On his journey he falls in with an orphan street urchin who falls in love with him. Not in a sexual way though. She sees his dedication as a big brother and wishes to have the same thing with someone. He takes her under his wing as his little sister in a way that could have played a little disturbing, but instead is delicate and touching. Aside from the visuals, that’s the reason you watch this movie.

The City of Lost Children is a different, unique kind of movie, so if you are into that sort of thing then this movie is going to be right up your alley.

(SEE)

——Gwendoline (1984)——

What an odd movie. I’m not really sure what to make of it. It’s definitely not a good movie, that’s for sure. But it’s so weird that those into that sort of thing will have to check it out. Hell, if anything this movie makes for a great party movie, when you have a bunch of drunk friends looking for something juicy to go all Mystery Science Theater on.

The premise? This is an Indiana Jones-style 80’s fantasy adventure movie that just also happens to be based on a French bondage comic. Heavenly Tawny Kitaen is Gwendoline, who smuggles herself to China in order to search for her missing father, who’s gone missing after searching for a rare butterfly in the mystical land of Yik Yak. (Still with me?) After being saved from some Chinese gangsters by a Han Solo-esq tough guy, she cons him into helping her and her French maid (played by an actress named only: Zabou) find her father and the butterfly in Yik Yak. He bitches and moans and tries everything to ditch her. She, apparently having never seen a man before, falls hopelessly in love with him. Being the sort of movie that this is, he begrudgingly falls in love with her too, all while the maid lives vicariously through them in the background.

Ah, and then there is Yik Yak. A diamond mine designed by apparently the same dude that built Superman’s Fortress of Solitude, run by a sci-fi Amazons unearthing the rocks for apparent religious reasons. They are all scantily clad, often naked and prone to lots of violence and/or bondage. It’s not a spoiler to say that Gwendoline gets tied up and naked…a lot. Funniest yet there is a chariot race with Amazons in place of the horses. Have I mentioned yet that this movie is WEIRD?

This movie is not good at all in the least. That said, like I mentioned before it is so weird that it does have its own certain–how do I say?–usefulness when it comes to obscure cult films to pull out for your friends. Be warned. Alcohol is definitely recommended before consumption.

(MISS)

(August 9)

——The Fury (1978)——

I was recommended this film, told “it’s not great De Palma, but it’s worth seeing if just for the ending, which is crazy total batshit.” I may be paraphrasing just a little bit, but you get the idea. That recommendation turned out to be pretty accurate. The Fury is a curious film, interesting, but overall not particularly special. If you’ve seen a supernatural thriller from the late 70’s/early 80’s before, you’ve seen this movie. It’s similar even to Brian De Palma’s own Carrie. But then there is that closing shot. My first thought? My, that’s a little excessive. My second? Coooool.

The Fury is about a secret agent (Kirk Douglas, doing his best to not look old) who is attacked by terrorists in Israel (huh?) so that other secret agents may kidnap his “gifted” son. What he’s gifted with at first isn’t readily apparent. But we get lots of clues along the way, up until we meet another girl in Chicago who has the same “gift”, which just happens to be telepathy and telekinesis. The problem is that the gift is so powerful that when used it can cause people around her to start bleeding. She freaks out and goes to an institute for the paranormal, which also happens to just be a front for the government agent that has Douglas’ son. He enlists her help to find his son.

The plot is so-so, but the movie does have its fair share of unintentionally hilarious moments, all courtesy of Douglas himself. My favorite is when he tells one of the G-Men following him to ask head spy (John Cassavetes) what happened to his arm. What happened to his arm? “I killed it!” (Trust me, it’s hilarious.)

De Palma cultists will have to see this. No doubt about that. To those curious, I’d say see it. If I haven’t hooked you on it yet, then this one for you is a

(MISS)

(August 10)

——Tsotsi (2005)——

I don’t necessarily think this is a great movie and yet it moved me deeply nonetheless. Is it possible for a movie to do that? Must be, because that’s how I feel. Damn you, mushy crap.

Tsotsi is about a Johannesburg, ghetto born and raised in the open air, now wannabe gangster. He’s lived the hard life so long that things are just about survival. He doesn’t give a shit about anyone else, not even his friends, in the effort to appear badass. Then he goes into a rich neighborhood to steal a car. He waits until a woman gets out of her car, runs up, shoots her, and drives off (poorly. He doesn’t know how to drive). Once he gets off onto the main road he makes a startling discovery. The woman had a baby in the car. What to do with it?

Tsotsi is not exactly who’d you’d be first to call if you needed a sitter. He feeds the baby canned milk, leaves and comes back only to find the baby covered in ants. Smooth. But something about the baby strikes a nerve in him. He’s reminded of his early days struggling with the other orphans on the outskirts of the ghetto. He takes pity on the child. He wants to take care of it. But almost like a child, he has no idea how to take care of one. He sees another woman with a baby and he forces her at gunpoint to feed his baby. The baby softens him though. He finally learns how to be a human being again.

It’s not exactly anything groundbreaking. But like any good movie, it doesn’t have to be groundbreaking if it just does its job well. And Tsotsi definitely does that. The final scene is a heartbreaker. Powerful stuff. And the director is smart enough to draw the scene out as much as possible. All and all, I’d say this is a very solid, worth seeing flick.

(SEE)

(August 11)

——Roman Holiday (1953)——

I dare you to find a more attractive on-screen couple in film history than Gregory Peck and Audrey Hepburn in Roman Holiday. Don’t believe me? Go to the scene where they tentatively kiss in the Roman rain and then you just try and convince me otherwise. When God created Man and Woman, this was probably the mold he used.

The movie itself is a fine piece of heartbreaking genius. It’s sweet, funny, romantic and at times very sad. It’s one of those romantic comedies that earns its emotions by not hiding from reality. The ending is a bit of a shocker, considering how often we’ve been preprogrammed by Hollywood schlock, but at the same time it seems surprisingly right and poignant. Roman Holiday is just one of those classic Hollywood romances, where Audrey Hepburn is a princess whose run away to relax and see the real world as the rest of us do, and Gregory Peck is the American reporter who runs into the incognito princess and strings her along for the story of the century, only to fall in love with her and have doubts about exploiting her trust for his own gain. I mean, we’re talking grade-A girlfriend movie material here, guys.

I love this movie. I’m really a sap at heart and Roman Holiday hits all of the right notes for me. Peck and Hepburn (in her first starring role, an Oscar winner!) have amazing chemistry. Instead of creating fake big moments the script focuses on the small moments and makes them big. Is it any surprise that the best scene in the picture then is that aforementioned kiss in the rain? You’ve got to be one stone cold sonofabitch to not have your heart melt a little bit when you see that. This movie gets one of my highest recommendations.

(MUST SEE)

(August 12)

——The Black Swan (1942)——

Those looking for a good pirate movie nowadays are a little limited in their choices. You could see one of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies, the porno big budget knockoff, or…uh. Well, before PotC there was quite the draught in good pirate movies. You have to go back to the pirate glory days. I’m very partial to Errol Flynn’s pirate films, Captain Blood and especially the Sea Hawks. If you can’t get your hands on one of those, then Tyrone Power’s The Black Swan is the next best thing.

Pirate Jamie Boy reforms (boo!) when his mentor, Captain Morgan, is made governor of Jamaica by the King in the hopes that a pirate knows best how to catch a pirate. Lucky for us, Jamie Boy doesn’t reform too much. One gets the impression that he only reforms just enough so that he can attract the attentions of Lady Margaret (Maureen O’Hara), who hates him merely because he’s a pirate. Meanwhile the former governor, obviously horrified that the pirate he’s hunted now has his job, does a little pirating of his own, taking information he’s received from Captain Morgan and giving it to other pirates so that they always seem to be one step ahead of the good guys. Jamie Boy, through some ingenuity and lots of swashbuckling uncovers the plot, saves the day, and gets the girl. What more do you need in a movie?

Power is no Flynn, but he does a good enough job filling in his shoes, bringing a great energy to his flirtations with O’Hara. It’s a real battle of the sexes, where he finally wears her down only by really showing that he was actually telling her the truth and that her father and fiance were both tools. Eh. It’s lots of fun anyway. The Technicolor looks great on this DVD, bringing a real life to the events with lots of vivid colors. Those looking for a good pirate adventure won’t be disappointed.

(SEE)

——Broken Lance (1954)——

I guess the easiest way to sum up the plot of Broken Lance would be to say that this is the King Lear of Westerns. Spencer Tracy is Lear, a tough but successful rancher/cattle baron that seems to be too hard on his three oldest sons. The youngest, Joe, is a half-Indian by a different mother, who definitely seems to be the apple of his father’s eye. He seems sure to inherit a big piece of the ranch. The older brothers want to run it a different way, but turn bad seed, even resorting to cattle rustling their own family’s steers. After a big altercation with a mine that has been dumping poisonous chemicals into the river, a good old-fashioned rumble breaks out. Joe takes responsibility for it. The rest of the family thinks that the older brothers will use their share of the ranch to pay compensation to the mine, but they never do and Joe has to go to prison for three years. The father has made all the wrong choices, and starts to pay for them.

It’s not your typical Western, more of a family drama dropped into a Western setting, and thus it is quite interesting and engaging in its uniqueness. I liked it quite a bit. Spencer Tracy chews scenery like a pro. It’s very well written and makes real good use of Cinemascope. Fans of Westerns will want to check this one out.

(SEE)

(August 13)

——Troy (2004)——

Watching Wolfgang Peterson’s Greek epic again, this isn’t the bad film I thought it was when I originally saw it in the theater. Of course, it’s not a great film either. It’s a film with a lot of missed potential. It’s one of those films that by the end of it your review has to be, “eh.”

I kind of liked most of it. What I didn’t like was how condensed the rich Greek mythology was. The entire Trojan War in the film seems to take place over a mere few days. In reality (or at least according to Homer) it took place over ten years. A little detail like that is just filled with potential to make the enormity of the War seem greater than it does. I mean, it’s the Trojan-fucking-War, not the Trojan light skirmish. Where’s the epic part? Instead it does a better job focusing on the characters: Eric Bana’s noble Hector, Brad Pitt’s childish warrior/God Achilles, Brian Cox’s arrogant Agemmenon, Peter O’Toole’s flawed but royal Priam. The smaller moments are really the bigger moments in this film. One things that kind of pissed me off was the depiction of Orlando Bloom’s Paris. For three/fourths of the film he is just this pretty-boy selfish pansy, and it is never mentioned what a spectacular archer he is. All the sudden he breaks out the bow at the end and he’s a man. What’s that all about? I knew what was going on, but anyone who didn’t know the myth would be royally pissed at that.

And that’s basically the problem with this film. It doesn’t capitalize on the big moments like it should. This story should have been multi-layered. Instead, we have to be content to see Hector go up against Achilles. Fun, but not 162 minutes, fun.

(MISS)

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

You’ve got to love The Rock.

The Rock’s brilliant answer to The EW Pop Culture Personality Test:

12. Q: Who are you mistaken for most often?

Rock: I’m The Rock. Nobody looks like me.

Amen brother. I can smell what you’re cookin’!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Treasure This Post, ya lil’ Monsters

[Alright, so I forgot to write something for tonight. Here is a little nugget I wrote a while ago and saved for just such an occasion. Enjoy~]

OK, most embarrassing moment time…

I tend to avoid embarrassment as much as humanly possible. I know. That sounds stupid. We ALL want to avoid embarrassment as much as humanly possible. I have a tendency to go out of my way to avoid it, though. Because of that, most people don’t even know my secret shame when they are standing right there watching it. And most of the time, embarrassment for me involves being wrong about something. People close to me know I can sometime be an open door when it comes to things that embarrass most folks. For me, it’s being wrong. I hate it. I’ve got an obsessive-compulsive disorder to not be wrong. So sue me.

Anyway, to my story. Enjoy readers, because NO ONE knows this story.

Fifth grade. JD, AA and I are standing in line, waiting to go to lunch or recess or something like that. AA starts to laugh, nudges the two of us and points down at his crotch. There is something really funny down there that we have to look at. I look down, being the innocent soul I was at the time, and see that he has a belt buckle on that has something written on it. You know fashion of the early 90’s. Anyway, it’s small print and there is a lot on there. I think he’s pointing at the belt buckle and so I start reading.

After JD looks down, he starts laughing. Am I a slow reader? Am I missing something? This isn’t exactly funny. I’m feeling really awkward staring at his crotch, so I start reading faster. I get to the end. It isn’t funny. Maybe I read it too fast. I’m sweating bullets now. Is there something else, other than the belt buckle? What else could there be? I read it again.

AA then, still laughing and pointing, says something like: “I got a fucking boner in class!”

Here I’ve been staring down with intellectual curiosity for what seems like eons at AA’s boner. Classy. Real classy.

I quickly straighten up and snort out a little laugh before acting like I’m too adult to actually think bragging about a boner in public is cool. I’m pretty sure they bought it too. But I know the truth of what happened that day. My secret shame.

Sigh.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sign Watch

I drove by the church in Manchester today. And you know what that means. Sign time:

9-11-2001
In God We Trust

Jeez, for some reason I just found that sign really stupid. “In God We Trust” in what? We trust that he’ll let more airplanes fly into skyscrapers? What about the terrorists that thought that God wanted them to fly those planes into skyscrapers? They certainly got what they wanted. Whose God are we trusting now, anyways?

Crap like that just makes me angry.

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Those “Lost” Guys Are Tough to Nail Down

Executive Producer of Lost, Carlton Cuse, says of new cast member, ER’s Elizabeth Mitchell: “We’ll confirm that she’s sexy, but we can’t confirm whether she’s an Other.”  

Holy shit!  Can you believe he just said that?!  Spoiler alert next time guys!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Monday Movie Review (Again, on the wrong day)

I was feeling frisky so I knocked off another week for you kind folks.  Good merciful heavens, please let the good times roll:

(August 14)

——High Tension (2003)——

I like this movie. You are either going to buy its bizarre ending or completely hate it (I really can’t make up my mind either way), but beyond that you can’t deny that up until that point this is a well-crafted, terrifying horror film. I was a little surprised, because I wasn’t all that impressed with Alexandre Aja’s latest film, the remake of The Hills Have Eyes, if you remember (March 14). High Tension hits all the high notes though.

Marie and Alexia are college students off to Alexia’s parents’ house to study for exams in peace and quiet. A sick, sadistic serial killer chooses that exact same night to break into their house though and kill them all. He goes through the family one by one before kidnapping Alexia. Only Marie is left to save her and stows away in his truck in an effort to free Alexia. I won’t say anything more, other to bring up again that there is a huge twist at the end.

I liked it. It’s real scary, classy horror, reminiscent of the great slasher flicks of the 70’s like Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Very freaky, very bloody, very gory. Everything you’d want in a great slasher. Give it a chance, be open to a weird ending, and enjoy.

(SEE)

——Go West (1940)——-

The Marx Brothers make a Western! That’s basically the premise of this movie. All the gags are the same, but at least the new setting lends a freshness to the material that was much needed. Of course, this movie is very funny. It’s the Marx Brothers!

Chico and Harpo are two brothers that make their way West only to unwittedly acquire a very valuable piece of land, lose it, and then try and get it back again. You don’t really need to know much more of the plot. There’s a great gag where Chico and Harpo fleece Groucho out of a hundred dollars by asking for change that doesn’t exist and then stealing their money back anyway. And the end of the movie has a pretty amusing climax involving, of course, a train chase sequence. It’ll remind you quite a bit of Buster Keaton’s The General. There is along the way the usual wordplay, sexual leering, and the required musical number to show us all why Harpo is called Harpo. All and all though, not a bad flick.

(SEE)

——Terrifying Girls’ High School: Lynch Law Classroom (1973)——

Of the three films in the Pinky Violence Collection that I have seen so far, this is definitely my least favorite. It seems to revel in its sadistic violence without bringing any fun or entertainment to the proceedings. It’s just mean towards its main characters for no real reason.

The story is about an all girls’ school where the disciple committee takes quite extreme steps to make sure the girls stay in line with what the politically ambitious principle wants of them. They go a little too far though, and one girl commits suicide trying to flee their torture. That girl just happens to be the friend of female yakuza (the always awesome Reiko Ike) who gets sent to the school and seeks revenge against the neo-nazi girls and their corrupt teaching staff. Probably the best part is when a rival yakuza comes into her classroom to challenger her to a duel (right in the middle of the lesson!), but the two call a temporary truce until things are taken care of at the school. A corrupt newspaper man sees this as his way to big money and he also helps the girls take their revenge by blackmailing the sex obsessed principle by putting them in compromising situations by literally whoring themselves out.

Unlike the other films in this collection, this one is hard to watch and just isn’t fun. It doesn’t have that gonzo spirit to it. Just a sadistic streak. Not my favorite.

(MISS)

——The Ballad of Cable Hogue (1970)——

This comedy/western isn’t the greatest film Sam Peckinpah has ever made, but it still manages to be some fine entertainment despite itself. Cable Hogue (Jason Robards) is a misfit who is betrayed by his comrades and left to wander his way out of the desert with no water. His situation is pretty hopeless. Except that for right before he is ready to keel over and die, he finds a water hole unknown to anyone else. He digs it out, claims the land, builds a house and starts to make a business for himself, being the only game in town. Meanwhile he falls in love with a prostitute from the nearest town. They seem made for each other, but she wants to make it big in the big city whereas he just wants to see his little venture grow and see revenge taken upon the two that left him to die. She leaves, and it is not known whether or not they’ll see each other again.

Because it is a Peckinpah western, Cable gets his revenge, but not in the usual take-no-prisoners fashion. This is a comedy, after all. It’s a sweet little film. Comfort food film, as it were. There could be a lot worse addition to the Peckinpah boxset that Warner Brothers put out.

(SEE)

——Mondo Cane 2 (1964)——

I believe this was made up mostly from outtakes from the first Mondo Cane. And it shows. Mondo Cane 2 has its moments, but mostly it just consists of weird and wacky things from around the globe. And not even particularly interesting ones. I thought this one was supposed to be more extreme than the first, but the opposite seems true. Aside from a few key moments this is mostly just trash. I’d stick away from this.

(AVOID)

(August 15)

——Masters of Horror: Jenifer (2005)——

I love this series. You’ve read a lot of my reviews on it in the past. So far its been more hits than misses. Director Dario Argento definitely brings the goods here. This is one of those films that embraces its short story anthology origins and creates a nice tight little tale with a clear beginning and end. The script was written by Steven Weber, who also stars as the cop that finds out in the middle of nowhere, about to be killed by a raving madman. Weber kills the man and saves the girl, but not before the man warns him about Jenifer.

Jenifer has a beautiful voluptuous sexpot body, but the face of a monster. She’s also mentally challenged, behaving more like an animal than a person. Weber takes pity on her, thinking she’s just abused. But then bad things start to happen. Like a cat, Jenifer kills things for her new master. She also seduces him. He finds something very sexually arousing in her that even despite her looks he’s drawn to her. There’s just something about Jenifer. More bad things start happening, though. This is a horror movie…

The one quibble I have with this movie is that in the documentary on Dario making the film, they show you some scenes Dario shot that were cut for being too sexually graphic. Dario mentions that he wishes that he could put them back in the film. Well, why weren’t they? Isn’t that the magic of the unrated DVD? Besides that, though, I enjoyed this quite a bit. I can’t wait for the next episode to make it in the mail to my house.

(SEE)

——Pulse (2006)——

Despite the presence of the beautiful and talented Kristen Bell, Pulse was about what I thought it was going to be from seeing the trailer. I have already seen the original Japanese film (Feb. 27) and knew from that that all of the best bits from the trailer were ripped off completely from the original. Everything else seemed lame to me. And what do you know, the film followed pretty much the same formula. And I think this is probably one of the first ever instances where the American remake of a Japanese horror film made less sense than the original film. I liked the logic of the original. The afterlife was all filled up, and thus spirits were trapped between the two worlds, stuck in the internet. This movie acts as if this were some plague unleashed by a rogue computer virus. The world of internet was never supposed to be opened, as it ripped into another world and let that world loose on us. It doesn’t make any sense. The why doesn’t even seem to matter.

The scares also suck a whole lot more than the Japanese version. American audiences must be stupid, because everything in here happens so fast. The movie is about the same running time and has the exact same story arc, and yet the American film covers about twice the amount plot points than the original. There are some genuinely creepy moments in the original, and they all have to do with long takes that hide things just outside of the frame, building up tension as the time elapses. The American one just jumps head on into the scares, without ever actually taking a minute to consider what actually makes them scary. It’s pathetic. Don’t see this. See the original.

(AVOID)

(August 16)

——Crash (1996)——

No, not the recent Oscar winner. This is the original Crash, directed by David Cronenberg. It’s not his best film, but like all of his movies it gives you a lot to think about. Even his so-so movies are totally worth seeing.

I found Crash very similar to his superior Videodromes, this being basically the same movie except for cars have replaced television in determining the “new flesh”. The film is about some sexually obsessed car crash victims who develop and interesting connection between the two things. A car crash becomes a religious experience. One character goes so far as to recreate famous car crashes, like the one that killed James Dean, to try and relive what that might have been like. He drives erratically in the hopes that he will have one of the mother of all car crashes that will kill him.

After his own car crash James Spader gets sucked into this world when he starts to see the woman (Holly Hunter) who he put in the hospital and killed her husband. There is this strange fascination with the sudden fusion of flesh and metal in a car crash. It reminded me of Tetsuo: The Iron Man in a way. There is an erotic force in a car crash. That rush you get when you crash but are still alive, it’s a powerful aphrodisiac. The two of them then start to sleep together, but only in the back of the car that killed her husband.

The reason why this film isn’t another Videodromes is because it never takes the final step. The theory is imagined but never fully developed. It never takes things to the next level, which is a shame, because I was totally going along for the ride. Still, Cronenberg fanatics are going to want to check this one out.

(SEE)

(August 17)

——Ginger Snaps (2000)——

One of the reasons why I love the horror genre is because of their ingenuity. When you actually have somebody talented behind the camera, who has something to say instead of just throwing buckets of blood and gore at the audience, they get a chance to say things that they probably wouldn’t be able to under the studio system. As long as the film delivers on the thrills they usually let you do whatever you want, because hell, they don’t give you that much money to begin with. If you can make something out of nothing, profit is profit.

Ginger Snaps is one of those surprising movies. Take a look at the cover of the DVD and you’d assume that this was some straight to video trash title not worth your time. In reality you’d be looking at a well written, well acted and well directed film well worth your attention. It plays out a lot like an episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, except for the fact that there is no slayer there to help anyone.

The story is about two teenage sisters, Ginger and Brigitte, who are inseparable, so much so that they pledge to kill themselves, should the other die first. They are both obsessed by death, going so far as to take various pictures of themselves dead for a school art project. Then, one day, two life changing things happen. First Ginger gets her period for the first time. Neither sister has had one, even though they’re three years past the normal age a girl gets her first one. Then, Ginger gets attacked by a werewolf that has been ravaging the neighborhood. Thus Ginger starts changing. First into a women, second into a monster. Becoming a werewolf becomes a metaphor for puberty. Not only does Ginger start taking an interest in boys and bad behavior, but she also grows a tail and a taste for blood. Poor Brigitte stands in the sidelines, no longer the center of her sister’s attention, and tries to find a cure for being a werewolf using the help of a local pot dealer (who reminds me very much of a young Christian Slater, a la Heathers).

The movie is quite funny, has some good thrills at the end, and is surprisingly well crafted. Don’t let the cheap cover fool you. This movie is definitely worth your time.

(MUST SEE)

(August 18)

——Small Gauge Trauma——

If you are a real hardcore film fan you probably know that aside from all of the indie movies made out there, there are also a lot of great shorts just dying to be seen. Of course, those shorts almost never see the light of day outside of film festivals. Which is why the fine people at the Fantasia International Film Festival made this DVD, which contains 13 shorts from 8 different countries. If you are like me, have seen it all and like horror or just weird film in general, then this is probably a must have DVD for your collection. Not all of the shorts are great but they are all interesting. I’m not going to write about them all, because heavens to Betsy, I’ve got a lot of movie reviews to write, but I will point out the highlights:

I’ll See You In My Dreams–Zombie lovers will get a real kick out of this Portuguese zombie fighter film.

Tea Break–A sick and twisted black humor commercial similar in style to Ridley Scott’s 1984 ad, about a slaughterhouse worker who slaughters…people.

The Separation–A Cronenbergian stop-motion animation piece about conjoined twins who just want to be back together again.

L’ilya–A Japanese mini-movie about an artist who films people committing suicide for a performance piece she’s working on.

Ruta Destroy!–Probably the most bizarre film in the collection, this hilarious Spanish short is a surreal music video/musical about drugs, sex, violence and…more drugs.

(SEE)

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Monday Movie Review (Yes, I’m not going to stop calling it that)

More reviews, more great stuff.  I saw an unusually high number of great movies this week, so get reading!

(August 28)

——Kicking and Screaming (1995)——

For anyone who has ever graduated from college and then wondered: “What’s next?” this is totally the movie for you. Writer-director Noah Baumbach made one of my favorite movies of last year, The Squid and the Whale, but this was the movie that started his career. And it’s brilliant. I just love this movie.

Kicking and Screaming is insanely quotable, like any great cult film is, about four college friends who all talk the same way and enter a state of arrested development around the college campus for the first semester of school after they graduate. The movie is all dialogue, and amazing dialogue–punchy, sarcastic and bitingly funny. One friend is afraid to go to grad school because it is in a different time zone. Another re-enlists in college to learn all of the stuff he missed out on the first time around because of partying, only to miss it the second time around because of all of the partying. One is just bitter and caustic, until a little love teaches him to lighten up. And the main character pines over his girlfriend who left to take classes in Prague. All of them are afraid of making big decisions and jumping into life.

This movie is soooo funny. Never has a movie about a group of people just sitting around and talking about bullshit been so incisive and yet meaningless. If you loved The Squid and the Whale like I did, here’s another movie for you.

(DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH)

——Divorce Italian Style (1962)——

Marcello Mastroianni is such a great actor. Every time I see a movie with him in it, I end up loving it, if just for him alone. Divorce Italian Style is a fun movie for him. He plays a Sicilian Baron with nothing to do, a boring life, and a homely wife he can’t stand hovering around him. He’s fallen in love with his cousin instead and wants to be with her. One problem though. In Sicily it’s illegal to get a divorce. How to get rid of his wife then?

The solution is to drive his wife into the arms of another man. Then, if made a cuckold, he can kill his wife in a fit of jealousy to defend his honor, and the Italian legal system will go very easy on him for his “momentary” lack of sanity. What’s great about this movie is that while the Baron is plotting a murder he’s also completely sympathetic to the audience. The subject of the satire here is the Sicilian society that encourages this kind of behavior, not the one man. This is definitely a black comedy. The Baron always looks quite exhausted, the stifling behavior of his wife personified by the stifling effect of the hot Sicilian weather. He’s always overwhelmed by it all. He also seems to take the love affair of his wife quite well. While being a cuckold in society would normally be a very shameful thing it is exactly what he wants in order to get what he wants. Life just isn’t that perfect though…

(SEE)

——The Toolbox Murders (1977)——

It took me more than a month to see it, but finally! I finished The Toolbox Murders. My first DVD was somehow defective, in that it just stopped playing about 30 minutes into the movie. I got it to work again by putting it into my laptop, but even then it stopped again just before I saw how it ended. That really pissed me off. So I had to send it in and wait for a new copy to see how it all ended.

The movie is…not bad. It pretty much has a great beginning and ending, with a bunch of crap filler in the middle to pad out the running time. The first thirty minutes are pure horror genius. One naughty girl after another is killed with various tools and not a shred of plot is to be seen. This long chain of violence is finally broken when a good girl is kidnapped by the killer. Then the boring crap starts. Basically the brother and the cops try to figure out who did the killing and where the girl went. None of this is very interesting. It doesn’t get good again until we actually find out where the girl went. The killer is a father who lost his daughter in a car accident. He thinks the good girl is the reincarnation of his daughter. There are a lot of really good monologues with the father, and he is very creepy explaining himself to the tied up and terrified girl. Surprisingly good acting there. Even better is the twist that crazy might run in the family…

A title card tells us at the end that apparently this was based on a true story, which only makes the documentary-like drawn-out killings and the painfully unflinching monologues at the end that much more potent. This isn’t a great movie, but fans of the slasher genre will get a real kick out of this one.

(SEE)

——City of God (2002)——

I really do love this movie. It was one of the films on my short list of great movies that I wanted to rewatch. As Roger Ebert is quoted as saying right on the cover of the box, it is “one of the best films you’ll ever see.” I don’t tend to argue with him on this point. City of God is an amazing film, filled with stunning visuals, a great script, fantastic acting from the mostly non-professional cast, and one of the best editing jobs in the history of cinema. I just love the editing in this movie.

The narrator of the story, an amateur photographer that grew up in the City of God, tells the story of how drugs (aka Cocaine) transformed a ghetto outside of Rio de Janeiro into one of the most violent non-warring places on earth. He tells the story in a fairly unconventional way. The narrative becomes fractured because as he is telling the story, whenever a new important character or situation becomes important the story backtracks to tell this new back-story before moving on with the rest of it. It reminds me a lot of a structure Quentin Tarantino might employ in one of his movies (not surprisingly, he’s a big fan). Gang leaders rise and fall, and throughout it the theme remains how the violence and corruption in the City of God just beget more violence and corruption. The movie can be shockingly violent at times, especially as we see Little Zee’s rise to power. He’s an ugly kid that no one wanted to have around as a gangster, so he goes out of his way to become the biggest most badass gangster ever, killing who ever and whom ever with no remorse. Actions have a way of coming back to haunt you though in the City of God.

This movie is unbelievable and should definitely be on your short list of movies to see if you haven’t already seen it.

(MUST SEE)

(August 29)

——Beerfest (2006)——

Ross wanted to take me to go see a movie for my birthday. Since I had already seen everything worth seeing out at the time, I saw this again. It still made me laugh. Good sign. It’s infantile, but good infantile. See my review of it last week for more info.

(MUST SEE)

(September 1)

——The Gumball Rally (1976)——

Like a gumball, this movie is pure sugar filled fun. You chew it around until it loses its taste, and then you move on to something else. I like the premise of this film though. It’s ripe for potential as a remake. Basically, an eccentric millionaire has started an unofficial race called the Gumball Rally. It’s a very illegal race from NYC to LA as fast as you can possibly drive for the reward of a Gumball machine trophy, that the proprietor of the race seems to win every time. The real fun of the race seems to just be driving it though. Basically you get a phone call or telegram that consists of just one word: Gumball. When you hear that you drop everything and rush to NYC to start the race. It’s silly and very fun.

This is a light comedy with lots of great thrills as cars drive in excess of 150 mph. There is the millionaire’s competitor that wants to win more than anything, so he hires an Italian Grand Prix champ (Raul Julia) to be his driver, with the one problem being that he’s an extreme womanizer. There’s also the police chief who wants to shut down the race once and for all, but seems to be the only policeman in the entire United States with any interest in catching these extreme speeders. It’s not a classic, but it’s very entertaining, and worth watching for any and all car chase fans out there.

(SEE)

——This Island Earth (1955)——

I didn’t realize it at first, but I had seen this movie before. Not exactly this movie, but the Mystery Science Theater movie, which riffs on this film. I just assumed this was a sci-fi classic. But aside from a few impressive (for 1955) special effects, this movie is actually kind of a hunk of crap, making it ripe for Mystery Science Theater spoofing.

First there is the fact that almost nothing actually makes any sense. I’m no nuclear scientist, but even I knew that I lot of this science was made up or just plain wrong. The story is basically about a hot-shot nuclear scientist who successfully builds a mysterious, hulking piece of shit two-way communicator sent to him by an alien race looking for smarty pants scientists to help them solve their current energy crisis. After a bunch of hooey techno-babble he heads off in an alien plane to…a farm in Georgia, where he meets a female scientist he used to know (but who at first pretends not to know him) and the alien leader, who is basically running a cult for limitless nuclear energy. After learning that the aliens have less than noble intentions for them they try to escape. The aliens then try to fry them with some sort of laser (don’t they want these scientists to help them?) and then kidnap them again to take them back to the alien world, under attack by…somebody. I have no idea who. I thought it was the crazy bug-eyed aliens on the cover, but no, they are just the slaves of these people. They get to the alien world with just enough time left to see that they can’t really do anything to help and so that a bug-eyed alien can attack the woman. They then go back home. The moral of the story? Well, I don’t actually know what the moral is. I’m not sure there even is one.

The main character is a prick. The woman, even though she is supposed to be one of the Earth’s top scientists, is there mainly for her breasts and for insulting remarks. Granted, she’s got a nice rack, but couldn’t they think of any other reason for having her in this movie? The best part of the movie is when the jock main character beats the bug-eyed alien with a pipe. It’s pretty hilarious. Actually, pretty much any good part in this movie is good because it is unintentionally hilarious. Unless you are up for some craptastic 50’s sci-fi, this one is mainly an

(AVOID)

(September 2)

——Vanishing Point (1971)——

[Note: This is a review of the longer UK version of the film. I haven’t seen the US version, but both are included on the DVD.]

Now this is a crazy, different car chase movie. A driver known only as Kowalski decides to drive from Denver to San Francisco in less than 15 hours, with only a handful of speed to keep him going. No other real motivation is given. It’s hinted at, but I think his reasonings have more to do with higher symbolic meanings than anything else. I think it is really a movie of its time, a hippie movie for the 70’s, after the disillusionment had kicked into full force. Kowalski becomes a cult hero as word of his exploits make it to the masses through a blind pirate radio DJ. Everyone wants to see him stick it to the man and make it to San Fran. But he’s also a tragic character. No one actually expects him to make it, but then that’s why they want him to do it. He’s a hero pushing it to the limits as he sticks it to the Man. Speed is his only God. He’s someone the counter-culture can get behind.

Along the way he meets some colorful folks, from an old prospector/snake catcher, to some snake worshipers turned hippie Christian rock band, to a nude woman on a motorcycle. You could say he’s on a spiritual quest through the purifying desert. He’s tested, and it is only when he gives into temptation that he falls into disaster. But it is more a Christ-like sacrifice than anything else. Let me just reiterate: This is not your typical car chase movie. But because of that this film is insanely interesting. And it doesn’t hurt that the chase sequences with the Dodge Challenger are completely kick ass.

(MUST SEE)

(September 3)

——Paris, Texas (1984)——

If watching every movie were as enjoyable and pure a cinematic experience as watching Paris, Texas, then I don’t think I’d ever do anything else. Oh wait, I don’t do anything else. But you get the picture. Director Wim Wenders (Wings of Desire) crafts a rare film in which emotions are real and earned, unlike the normal Hollywood sentiment that is steam shoveled down our throats. It’s rare to find a movie out there in which the characters seem so real that you forget that you are watching a fictional film.

Paris, Texas starts out with Travis (Harry Dean Stanton) wandering out of the desert like some mythical figure. He stumbles into a rest stop looking for water and faints. Later the local doctor finds him mute and with amnesia, and calls his brother in California to come pick him up. For the first 25 minutes of the film Travis doesn’t say a word. He just wants to go off to…something, out in the distance and keeps trying to ditch his brother until his brother finally gets to him. They drive back to California.

Something happened to Travis, four years ago. He left his wife and child and was never heard from again. His wife (Nastassja Kinski) disappeared too, leaving his son with his brother and sister-in-law. The son has grown up thinking that his aunt and uncle were really his mother and father. As Travis starts to come around he slowly starts to build a relationship with his son until they both decide that they want to go out and find his mother.

There are a lot of long monologues in this film, brilliantly written, directed and acted in long takes. Stanton especially does a stellar job, saying more without saying anything than most actors could ever hope to in their entire careers. He’s a revelation, and if you don’t think he is one of the greatest American actors after seeing this film then you’ve been smoking something. This movie is so engrossing from beginning to end. I definitely recommend you all see this.

(DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH)

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Everyone is doing it: NOT-A-COP!

There’s this driving game I came up with. Anyone can play it. You don’t have to be a speeder like myself to play, but it does help make the game a lot more fun if you do.

The rules are easy. When you first see a car way off in the distance (or a pair of headlights, if it happens to be nighttime) try to guess whether or not said car is a police cruiser. That’s it. If you think that car is free of the fuzz, yell out: “Not-a-Cop!” The challenge comes from deciding to yell “Not-a-Cop!” before you actually know for sure if it is or is not a cop. The further away the car, the higher the challenge, the greater the point value awarded for success. Failure comes from when one yells out “Not-a-Cop!” only to find out that it was, in fact, a cop. D’oh! Hours of entertainment can come from instantly deciding whether or no to yell out “Not-a-Cop!” at the slightest shimmering of something shiny off on the horizon.

The non-speeders in the crowd might not find the same excitement in “Not-a-Cop!” as us speeders do, though. Predict a cop is coming from a mile away when you are doing 10+ over the speed limit and you are a Hero. Think a cop is coming and slam on the breaks, only to find it is just a station wagon instead, and you are a major Putz. Of course the dreaded GAME OVER of “Not-a-Cop!” is getting pulled over after yelling out “Not-a-Cop!” only to realize that you have made a horrible, horrible mistake.

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments