Sign Watch

I really need to keep a notepad in my car. Writing down signs at 45-55 mph on random scraps of paper just isn’t that safe. Case in point, from some wisdom I learned from the firehouse:

“The weakest part of a car is the nut holding the wheel.”

For me, that was a very timely sign.

Next, we have one that I almost missed. It was on a sign board I don’t usually check, but should do so religiously (no pun intended) from now on. I almost drove off the road when I saw it. I totally geeked out.

“Feel down in the mouth.
Get a faith lift here.”

Is that not sign genius, or what? Have I mentioned lately how much I fucking love this new hobby I made up?

I love that saying the sign out loud makes it sound like you have a lisp. Also, am I the only one that thinks that this sign makes no sense, whatsoever? “Feel down in the mouth?” GENIUS!

…..

Sometimes writing Sign Watch really is the highlight of my week.

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Time for ANSWERS!

Alright, folks, answer time. What the hell did I do Friday night? I thought it was really funny that the first guess [I had my hands in a guy’s chest, massaging his heart] was the closest you could possibly get to being right without actually being even remotely close. What do I mean by that? Keep reading…

Before I tell you what I did Friday night that was so interesting that I have to drag this out to such extremes, let me tell you a story! Let me just briefly say that I am finding the Bennington Bypass to be more and more the devil every single day. A history lesson:

-Just before the Bypass opens it claims its first victim. I’m driving home, some dumbass in a construction pickup truck decides to drive in the oncoming lane for a mile, and then some dumbass in my car (uh, that would be me) decides to pass him on the right. He’s, of course, making a right hand turn into what is to become the entrance to the Bypass. He slams into my driver’s side rear door, crunching it in so bad that I can’t open the door and pushes me off the road. My quick reflexes keep me from narrowly killing us all. Construction of the Bypass erases all evidence of the accident. A week later the insurance inspector drives out to take pictures of the scene, but it no longer exists. That dastardly Bypass.

-One slushy pre-spring afternoon I’m driving home on the Bypass and it claims victim #2. The tire treads in the road are dry, but everything around them is covered in a couple inches of slush. I drift into the slush and dovetail for seemingly forever before finally doing a 360 that launches me over an embankment Dukes of Hazzard-style. Brake line busts and the Chevy Lumina never drives the same again. I ditch it in favor of my sexy Mazda 3. Bypass claims its second victim, this time with a fatality.

-I’m driving home on my birthday. Cop pulls me over for speeding. Bypass has me by the balls, as I’d been drinking. Luckily I had outsmarted the Bypass by being responsible and waiting until I was sober to drive. Also, Not-a-Cop played in my favor, dropping me one mile per hour right below that magic speed that really pissed the Po-Po off. Cop lets me off with a warning. Bypass: 2, Me: 1.

-I’m driving home earlier this summer and a dick in a mini-van launches a rock a billion miles per hour at my windshield. The Mazda just can’t take it. I get a giant crack and a new windshield. The Bypass strikes again!

OK, so the history lesson is over. What the fuck, you ask, happen Friday night? I bet you are starting to get some ideas. So let me tell you my story.

I’m driving home from work (why does everything always happen when I’m driving home?). It’s that time a year where it is now finally dark when I drive home, so I’ve got my headlights on. I enter the Bypass (AKA, the Kill Zone) and start driving up the hill. At the top of the hill I notice that a car has pulled over to the side of the road in the opposite lane with his blinker on, indicating that he has indeed pulled over. I don’t think anything of this because it is a fairly common occurrence on the Bypass. Because it is so new people unfamiliar with the road take it and suddenly think they are lost.

Then I notice that another guy is driving by the pulled over car. As that car isn’t pulled over completely onto the shoulder, the car coming towards me starts to drift a little over the centerline. Going up the hill, I’ve got two lanes to choose from, so I naturally start to change lanes, moving right, so that I can make more room for the guy coming towards me. My eyes are focused on the two cars in the other lane. That just happened to be a big mistake.

In the middle of my drift I suddenly notice a dead deer lying in the middle of my two lanes, i.e. right in fucking front of me. I have literally zero time to react. If I were to try any sort of evasive maneuvers at that point I probably would have flipped my car and killed myself. The best (and only) thing I can do is just plow right through it and hope for the best. My driver’s side front tire makes impact and launches the car into the air.

And that’s it. I keep moving forward. Nothing seems immediately wrong.

My first instinct is to, duh, pull over. At that point in the road there isn’t really any shoulder, so I think to myself, instead of making myself a big target I’ll just drive up a little further up and then pull over to check out the damage. I keep driving and everything seems fine with the car, so I just keep on trucking home.

Why didn’t I stop, you ask? Well, there was one big important factor that I haven’t mentioned yet. The SMELL. Instantly, as soon as I hit the deer, the most foul smell I’ve ever had the pleasure to experience invaded my senses. It smelled like some unholy combination of musk, rotting burned flesh, and wet fur. As soon as I knew that the car was fine all I wanted to do was get it home so that I could take the hose to it. Which is exactly what I did.

For a good half-hour I sprayed the bottom of the car. Surprisingly there was not a scratch or drop of blood on the bumper. It completely cleared the deer. The tire was not as fortunate. The wheel well for the front driver’s side tire looked like the victim of a chainsaw attack. Blood and liquefied guts were everywhere. I sprayed and sprayed and sprayed some more. It was only after that half-hour of constant high-pressure water that I finally let the dogs out. Unfortunately, it was when I let the dogs out that I discovered what I crap job I had really done. You could just tell that there were some areas of the car that I didn’t do a very good cleaning, because suddenly the dogs would just go ape-shit at a certain area. I dragged them back into the house and then really went to work.

So, you may be thinking at this point in the story that you now know the answer to the mystery of What did Ben do Friday night? “Hit a deer with my car” is not the correct answer.

After dragging the dogs back into the house I really got to work. I put on some kneepads, busted out the flashlight and got on my hands and knees to be able to tilt my head underneath the car. With very little searching I found plenty more things to spray with my hose. So I sprayed. And I sprayed. And I sprayed. And all of this time the thought I did not want to think kept popping into my head.

“Ben, you’re going to have to pull that chunk of meat out with your hands.”

It was one of those monumental moments of great frustration in life. You keep spraying it and checking, hoping and praying to God that the last spray was enough to knock it loose. Not a chance.

Well, maybe I don’t have to pull it out. Let someone else do it. Yeah, right. There is no one else here to do it. And if you don’t pull that gawddamn chunk of flesh out your car, it is going to stink to all holy heaven come morning.

I wasn’t stupid though. I rummaged around the house for some kind of glove to use. Then I got the idea to put a plastic baggy over my hand. That turned out to be a good idea.

After fortifying myself for the task at hand I got underneath my poor car and reached out to grab the first piece of flesh that I saw. That first piece also happened to be the worst. Why? It looked like meat, but it was really bone. I freaked and dropped it. Oh God, that was so gross. Just that texture…I was not expecting it. Every time I pulled something out I wanted to puke. Did I mention that the smell was horrible? My gag reflex got quite the workout. Pulling those vile guts out from underneath my car, flashlight in tow, was easily the grossest thing that I’ve ever had to do. What was worse was that I usually couldn’t hold the flashlight and reach under at the same time. So I was literally feeling my way through the dark.

All and all I spent over an hour trying to stick my head where I really didn’t want to stick it. I couldn’t get the smell out of my nose. I thought it was everywhere. And worse yet, I hadn’t had dinner yet! Eating was absolutely the last thing on my mind. I am proud to say, though, that after all of that hard work I really do think I did a good job cleaning out the underside of my car. The difference in smell before and after was astronomical. When I noticed that I knew that I did a good job. Still, eww! The damage to my car is seemingly minimal. The mudguard for the engine underneath the bumper was pulled down on the impact side. That’ll have to be fixed. Otherwise, it all looks good. I’m taking it in Tuesday to get checked out, to make sure nothing else more serious is wrong with my baby.

So, in conclusion, What DID Ben do Friday night? He pulled dead deer meat out from underneath his car with his bare hands. Not exactly what everyone wants to be doing on their Friday night. That’s my story. The Bypass strikes again. I’m confident now that that damn Bypass is going to take my life one day. Maybe not soon. Maybe not until I’m 90, even. But believe you/me, that damn road will claim me one day.

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Last Day!

There’s still time left!  Get those guesses in!  What did Ben do Friday night?

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Polls Are Still Open!

Get those guesses in people!  $50 are on the line!  The polls close tomorrow night.

Here’s two hints:

1) No, I did NOT watch a movie.  Usually that would be a flawless guess, but not for last night.

2) I did about the LAST thing you would expect to do on a Friday night.  Think big, people!  I’m not going to tell you yet if she was wrong or right, but seahorsemystic is definitely on the right track in her thinking.

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

The Ben Mystery Challenge!!!

50 dollars to ANYONE who can correctly guess what it was that I did tonight.  The answer will come Sunday night.  Get guessing!

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Good Parenting 101

Now this is one way to motivate your child:

Mom admits to rewarding son with pot for doing homework

Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Don’t you love feeling smart?

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Tree and Goldenrod, originally uploaded by themaneatingcow23.

Over the past week I have noticed more and more goldenrod blossoming all over, casting a brilliant yellow hue over all of the green up here. Every day you see more and more yellow, and it’s really beautiful. You can see quite a bit of it in this photo I shot on Monday, left of the tree.

Seemingly unrelated, I’ve also started to notice that my eyes have started to burn as I drove to and from work. Since it’s cooler out now, I just assumed it was from the central air in the car.

As the yellow has progressively taken over more and more fields and my eyes have progressively burned more and more, today I suddenly came to the revelation that the two things might just be connected. Uh, Duh.

——

Another revelation I’ve had: In Vermont, if you see a cop on the road your chances of seeing another cop on the same drive rises ten-fold. I swear, for days you won’t see a single cop. Then one day you see four over the course of three miles.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Well, How about that?

My windshield wipers have the magical ability to seemingly put more water on my windshield after they wipe than before.  If I could just reverse engineer this technology I could make billions!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

To Blog Or Not To Blog, That Is The Question

I’ve come up with a new mission statement for my blog. You want to hear it? OK, here it is:

Don’t suck.

That’s about it. My blog, C’est Non Un Blog, was started my last semester at college after my friend Mike started up his own after getting hooked on someone else’s. I’ll be honest with you, I thought the idea was stupid at first. Post your diary online for everyone to read? Yeah, no thank you. But after reading his blog for a little while, I got hooked. Well, I’d like to think that. More likely it has to do with the fact that I’m an attention whore with a weakness for wanting to be a part of new fads if I think everyone else is doing it. Yes, I do believe that’s called peer pressure.

I’ll be honest with you, my blog sucked at first. Every time I go back and read one of my old entries from my original blog on Blogger I wonder what the hell I was on. What a crap storyteller I was! Everything is just random observations of things I thought I’d never forgot, and of course forgot almost instantly after posting them. That went on for a while. I started reviewing things, a tradition I’m happy to say I brought back this year, but all of that ended for a while when I started my new job at Bose, almost a year after I started blogging. Then everything ground to a halt. Posts were rare and sporadic. Often times very dull. I’m glad I still have all of you readers who stuck through the dry times.

Some of my regular readers might have noticed a little change over the past month on what kind of content makes it onto my site. Well, first off, there is actual content, beyond the (usually) late movie reviews and random bitch sessions. I want to attract more readers, or at the least keep the ones I’ve got, so I’ve made a conscious decision to liven up my posting schedule by giving you more of what you want.

This decision came to me through several different channels. First off, one of you was polite enough to ask me where the hell all of the personal details of my life were and I kindly obliged. Then I unofficially entered the Yo La Tengo Blog Challenge, where participants pledge to blog at least once a day for the rest of the year. So far, so good. I didn’t officially enter though because I pretty much figured that once I went to Seattle the whole posting every day thing would fly with me out the door for the week. I’m kind of thinking that was a stupid, cowardly decision, but no bother. Finally I picked up a book to help me on my quest for better blogging. The book in question: No One Cares What You Had For Lunch: 100 Ideas for Your Blog by Margaret Mason, AKA Mighty Girl. I love reading her blog and the book is likewise filled with great ideas for freshening up your blog. If you are serious about blogging I suggest you pick it up too.

So that’s it. “Don’t Suck.” I hope I’m succeeding in my quest. One final thing, which is something I’d like to now ask of you. I don’t talk to most of you who read this very often, or at all. So therefore everything you know about the “me” of right now is based on 3 years of blogging. If you would be kind enough to take the time to do so, could you reply in my comment section what your general impressions of me are from my blogging? When you click on my blog and start reading, what do you generally expect to read? I want to find out who my readers think I am. Thanks ahead of time for all of you who take the time to do so.

Also, if you blog and I don’t already know your blog’s web address, can you share the wealth? I’m addicted to reading blogs, checking all of my regulars more than once a day, even though it seems that I’m always either bitching that people post too much or not enough. Especially if you read this and I don’t know you do, spread that sweet blogging love.

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

I so didn’t come with this guy

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }

This picture is of Ross in the Subway across the street from Images Cinema eating his dinner before we go to see US premiere of The Last Kiss (more on that later). It’s kind of a stupid picture, I know. Why’d I post it then? Well, I just wanted to draw your attention to Ross’ shirt, quite possibly the gayest shirt ever. This, folks, is what he was wearing while we sat next to each other at the screening. I think he wore this on purpose, the bastard.

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments