Sign Wisdom

This sign comes to us from the church in Manchester:

“Forbidden fruit creates many jams.”

Immediately after reading this sign I shouted out to no one in particular: “And I’ll be damned if they aren’t all delicious!” The ways I have to amuse myself have no ends.

This sign comes courtesy of MegO in Natick:

On my way to work this morning, I drove past the Wayland police station. On the front lawn, they had one of those scrolling electronic signs that read: “Love shouldn’t hurt…… October is domestic abuse awareness month.”

Yeah, it shouldn’t hurt, but it does. Didn’t they sing a song about that? So, folks, make sure you notice all of that abuse going on around you this month so that you can go back to ignoring it in November without a guilty conscience.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

People are Weird

A woman calls up the store today and the first thing out of her mouth is: “I’ve probably got the weirdest question you’ve ever heard…”

Not the best way to start a conversation. So I buckle down, waiting for the weirdest thing to ever come out of someone’s mouth to hit me in the face. She tells me about how she recently moved her system and all of the wires popped out of the back. She tried to put them back in, but it’s not working. Does anyone ever come out to fix such a thing?

She stops talking and I wait for the bombshell to hit. There is a long pause, where no one says anything. Finally, I ask: “Is that it?”

“Yeah, do you guys do that sort of thing?”

That’s the weirdest question I’ve ever heard? Honey, I’m not sure that even makes the Top One-Thousand. In fact, that’s probably in the Top Five of MOST COMMON QUESTIONS WE GET.

I tell her that it’s not really that weird a question. In fact, it is such a simple problem that I can probably talk her through it over the phone. And I do. And she thanks me, seemingly pleased with the result of the conversation.

It’s not like I do this sort of thing every day. Oh wait, I DO.

People are weird, sometimes.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Snack-attack, motherf@#$er!

You all know that I’m a huge Lazy Sunday fan. Well, here I am posting it again, except this time the video is a fan made, shot for shot remake of the original. Watch it. See how freaky it is that they could make it so damn similar to the original. Enjoy your cupcakes:

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Monday Movie Review

Yes, I do take a lot of pleasure in still calling this The Monday Movie Review, even despite the fact that it only actually seems to land on a Monday about 5% of the time.  Anyway, this week is a short one.  Right after coming back from Seattle I had a lot on my plate, so there are only three reviews here.  A bit sized read after yesterday’s full meal.  Enjoy:

(October 3)

——The Science of Sleep (2006)——

I really like Michel Gondry as a director. That guy has just an amazing imagination. His Director’s Series DVD, a collection of his music videos (including most of Bjork’s best videos), is must have. The documentary on it is also must see. Make sure you don’t forget to watch it. The guy just loves his dreams and loves to incorporate them into his films. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is a fantastic film and a great example of this. The one problem is that Gondry thought that the writer, Charlie Kaufman, took too much credit for Eternal Sunshine’s success, so he decided to both direct and write this film as his next project.

Gondry’s visual genius cannot be denied. This film makes great use of his dream logic through some amazing dream sequences. They’re a blast. He isn’t quite as good a writer though. At least not as good as Kaufman. The plot of this film doesn’t really seem to gel half of the time. For instance, this girl Stephanie really likes our main character, but he doesn’t like her, until he realizes that he does like her but then suddenly out of nowhere she doesn’t like him. To make matters worse, his dream world is interfering more and more with his real world so much that we don’t really know what is going on. It’s confusing and not particularly pleasant. Don’t get me wrong, the film is still leagues above most crap out there that is trying to be passed off as art, but I still have to give this a reluctant

(SEE)

(October 8)

——Dead Man’s Shoes (2004)——

I really liked this movie. It’s a sort of slow burn revenge movie that takes its time building up suspense instead of just dumping on us buckets of gore. And while this movie does have its fair share of gore, its much classier stuff than you see in the average film of this genre. You’d think “art film” if everyone didn’t keep dying.

The brilliant Paddy Considine plays a man just back from the army who is good and pissed off that while he was gone some drug dealers took advantage of his mentally challenged brother. We know from the start that something bad happened to him, but what it was isn’t revealed until the very end. We just get flashbacks throughout the film of little abuses adding up into bigger ones until we are just dying to know what happened to his brother. The revelation turns out to be an honest shock.

In the meantime Paddy mentally tortures and toys with the blokes who messed with his brother until he decides that it is time for them to die for what they’ve done. It turns out that it isn’t really that hard to mess around with guys who take drugs all of the time. When you’re ex-military, it also turns out that it isn’t that hard to kill them, either. Each one goes down one by one until he gets to the last one, the reformed one who went good. That’s when the movie gets really interesting. There is the revelation about what happened to the brother, and how Paddy decides to handle the situation will make your jaw drop. Really good stuff. If you are looking for a quality movie no one has heard of with a little meat on its bones, you could do worse than this one.

(SEE)

——Defenceless: A Blood Symphony (2006)——

For some reason, Australian low budget director Mark Savage thought that it would be really cool to make a silent revenge flick. Now, while the guy has a good eye, master storyteller he ain’t. I can’t tell you how much this movie would have benefited from a little dialogue here and there. You don’t have to make it into a Howard Hawks movie or anything. Just a line here and there would have made all of the difference. As it is, the lame music just isn’t cutting it. That and towards the end this movie gets VERY weird. That could probably be taken out too, now that I think about it.

In a set-up too lame to really believe, a woman refuses to sign a land deal that would put condos on a deserted beach, and to be real bastards the three other guys decide to torture her, by killing everyone she loves. Yeah, I know. I do that too sometimes when I don’t get my way. First her husband. Then she tries to kill herself, but a lesbian saves her, they become lovers, and then they kill her! This was about the point where I thought a little more time on the screenplay could have helped. Let’s just forget about the part where she’s raped, thrown in the ocean, only to come back nine months later as some sort of mute fish girl. I know. WEIRD.

The movie has its gruesome charm, but really the whole time I just wanted to say something, a feeling only amplified when natural sound effects suddenly appear, especially moans and screams. Just say something! Seeing people getting text messages just doesn’t cut it for me. A nice try, but ultimately not worth your time.

(MISS)

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Monday Movie Review (It Is Back!)

Well, finally, it’s back!  Took me long enough to sit down and write another review.  I think it just took a good batch of movies to get my critical juices flowing.  And that’s just what we had last week as you’ll see.  I’ll quit stalling and let you dig into the fun.

(October 9)

——Masters of Horror: Imprint (2005)——

Takashi Miike has the distinct honor of not only being the only Asian director hired to represent Asian horror for the Masters of Horror series and being the only one to film his episode outside of Vancouver, but he is also the only director to have his episode banned from being shown on American TV. Honestly, is anyone surprised? This is the guy who made Ichi the Killer, Audition and Visitor Q, three of the most disturbing movies that I have ever seen. If Miike (one of my all-time favorite directors) DIDN’T get banned from American TV I’d be very disappointed in him.

From a completely objective perspective, there really isn’t any more nudity or gore in this episode than in any of the other episodes that I have seen. Looking at it from that angle you would have to ask yourself, Why was this banned, exactly? Well, there might not be any more gore than any of the other episodes, but Imprint is about 20 times more disturbing than all of them combined. Seriously, in true Miike fashion, this movie is fucked up. Did you see Audition? Did that pin sequence make you a little queasy? Then you might not want to watch this episode. Also, depending on your opinion of abortion, this might not be the movie for you. For the rest of us this is fucked up movie heaven.

In 19th century Japan an American writer goes looking for a Japanese woman he lost on a mysterious island populated by whores and said to be possessed by demons. There he meets a prostitute with a scarred face who says she knew the women he is looking for. She tells her story, but all is not as it seems. What really happens tears his mind apart in ways he never expected.

Takashi Miike has a style all to his own, and no matter what kind of movie he makes (he notes in his interview that he’s not actually really a “horror” director, even though he’s made horror films) you can tell that he made it. What is his style though? It’s a sort of anything goes style. In a Miike movie anything is possible and anything could (and probably will) happen. The plot structure reminded me a little bit of Hero, where someone tells a story but doesn’t really tell the whole story, and only after repeatedly tearing away the layers do we really find out what happened. And boy, what happened was freaky.

(MUST SEE)

(October 10)

——Black Emanuelle (1975)——

This is a shit movie. It’s got some things going for it. The title, for one. I think it’s pretty funny. Because she’s called Emanuelle, and, you know, she’s BLACK. And then there is the theme song. Probably the best part of the movie, the theme song. Very funky fresh. I wish I could put it on my iPod. And then there is the rampant nudity. Who doesn’t like excessive nudity?

Of course, that’s about it. The plot sucks. This is basically softcore porn in Africa. Emanuelle (eh hem! BLACK Emanuelle) is a photographer sent to Africa on assignment who decides to sleep with, well, everyone. At first she seems a little picky and prudish, but once she realizes that everyone thinks she’s hot she sleeps with everyone. And I do mean everyone. This is basically porn without all the naughty X-rated bits. The movie isn’t really much to write home about.

That is until the very end. All of the sudden, out of frakin’ nowhere, the writer comes up with this brilliant theme for the movie. I’m serious. My jaw dropped at how profound and meaningful it was. Where the hell did that come from? I thought this was a shit, thoughtless movie! Who inserted a thought? It has something to do with how Emanuelle feels used and spit out by society because she is so attractive and she sleeps with everyone out of a depressed submission or something. Seriously, it’s good stuff. If someone had taken this idea and actually run with it for the entire film I’d be raving about Black Emanuelle right now. Instead, I’m going to tell you that this is a

(MISS)

——Duck Season (2004)——

Duck Season is a fun little homegrown Mexican movie about being a kid on a lazy Sunday. That’s it. It’s a pretty simple premise. But sometimes a simple premise is more than enough to make for a great film.

Flama and Moko are 14-year old best friends who hang out every Sunday, drink Cokes, eat pizza and play Halo. It’s just the two of them. Mom’s not home. But then the power goes out! What to do? They do, of course, what any male friends would do, which is sit and stare at the wall in silence. Yes, women, it’s true. Instead of, say, talking to each other, we’ll just wait. I think this is why men traditionally have one-tracked minds while women are great at multitasking. If we wanted to talk, we’d talk. But we want to play Halo and shit, we can’t do that until the power comes back on!

A 16-year old (female) neighbor comes over to use their stove to bake a cake, as her own oven isn’t working. They really don’t want to let her in, but she cons her way in anyway. And because the power is off, she’ll have to stay longer than she planned. Later the power comes back on and they order a pizza. The delivery guy is five seconds late (according to them) so they shouldn’t have to pay. He disagrees. They agree to play Fifa soccer on the X-Box to decide who is right. Of course the power cuts out before they have a winner, so he stays, waiting to get paid.

The four of them spend the rest of the afternoon together, learning a little bit more about the others. No one is who they appear to be on the outside. You really get to love these characters by the time the movie is done. I bought the movie after I heard it compared to a John Hughes movie, and that’s a pretty accurate comparison. If you liked movies like the Breakfast Club, you’ll probably really enjoy this too.

(MUST SEE)

——Sister Street Fighter (1974)——

Sister Street Fighter was a movie that I originally reviewed waaay back in December of 2003, just when I started up the Monday Movie Review and was really stuck on kung fu movies. Sister Street Fighter made a big impact on me then, so much so that when I saw that a newly restored boxset of all four Sister Street Fighter movies (wait, there are four of them?!) was coming to DVD I had to pick it up. Here is my original rave for Sister Street Fighter:

——Sister Street Fighter——

(A)

This is like camp movie heaven. It’s as if the director watched a whole bunch of Bruce Lee and James Bond movies on drugs, and then decided to make a movie out of the combination. The whole thing is just crazy and hilarious. Finally a Sonny Chiba movie I can call a favorite.

A few things to clear up first though. Although there is a sister in the movie, and she is a street fighter, she’s not the sister to THE Street Fighter, Sonny Chiba. Also if that wasn’t confusing enough, although Chiba is listed in the credits as The Street Fighter, he’s not actually the character from the Street Fighter movies. In fact he doesn’t really have much of a character at all, and instead is just a cool cameo guest star who appears occasionally (and usually randomly) to kick some ass. The real star is the sister (who I think is the same actress that was the “dragon princess”).

The plot: The sister is called to Hong Kong when her brother, operating undercover in a drug ring, disappears. The sister tracks him back to a drug czar in Japan who acts like a crazed Japanese Bond villain. Also, he’s surrounded himself with a bunch of trained killers who are absolutely HILARIOUS. There is this guy who wears a red jump suit and has two nunchuks and screams like a girl whenever he attacks. There is Hammerhead, who dresses like a traditional samurai and has a gang that travels with him that wear black leather masks that look like giant Buggles. There is a group of woman Thai boxers who call themselves the Amazons and wear those 1930’s Flintstone’s-esq leopard print caveman dresses and weird paper mache masks. And there are SO many more. It’s fantastic.

Thankfully with so many villains the movie is chockfull of fights and ass kicking, in the most extreme Bruce Lee HIIIIYAAAA! fashion. It’s excellent. The acting is camp-tastic and the villains secret underground lair has plenty of extreme fashion sense and bizarre traps (a pit full of spikes; a trap door say, oh, in the middle of nowhere). Add to that more cheesy cliches than you can handle and the fact that the villain’s master plot is to soak wigs in heroin in order to get them through customs (making this probably the only movie where the line “Quick, put out the fire! You must save the wigs!” has been uttered) and you have the makings of one of the best movies EVER!

——

I’m a little sad to admit that rewatching Sister Street Fighter wasn’t QUITE as awesome as I remembered it. It dragged a little bit from time to time. It wasn’t as crazy psychedelic as I remembered. Still, it’s a really fun movie. I think the main problem was that I watched it this time in the original Japanese instead of the American overdub. The English overdub is WAY funnier. I don’t even think the line “Quick, put out the fire! You must save the wigs!” was uttered in the Japanese language version. Too bad. Also, this version might be a little longer than the other one I saw. I read in the notes section that America got a chopped version for theaters, cut for violence. I can believe that. The credits are different (Chiba isn’t credited as THE STREET FIGHTER for one). It did seem a little gorier. And the transfer is beautiful. Crisp anamorphic widescreen. Nice. I just should have watched it with the crappy English dubbing. I really can’t wait to see what part two has in store for me.

(SEE)

(October 11)

——The Departed (2006)——

The Departed is a Hollywood remake of an Asian cop movie called Infernal Affairs. I know. Groan. Another remake of a great Asian film? Give me a break. There is one key difference here, though. Martin Scorsese is directing. And lucky for us, he’s made one of his best films in years.

If you’ve already seen Infernal Affairs (which you should) then you aren’t really in for any big surprises plot-wise here (that is, unless you are like my friend Josh and you forgot what happens in the end). Beat for beat The Departed follows Infernal Affairs to a T. What’s different is that the brilliant script to this movie has been fleshed out quite a bit beyond what they did in Infernal Affairs. The characters have been fleshed out so much more and every second of added footage is worth it. The Departed keeps everything I liked about Infernal Affairs and fixes everything I didn’t. Not only are the two main characters fleshed out a bit more, but more minor characters in the Hong Kong version like the crime boss and the girlfriend are given much bigger, juicier parts.

And luckily, we’ve got plenty of amazing actors to go around in this movie. Jack Nicholson is thankfully more restrained than he usually is; newcomer Vera Farmiga makes you believe that her small part actually has a reason for being in this movie; Mark Wahlberg actually reminded me of why we’re supposed to think of him as an actor, with a top notch performance as the most pain in the ass cop ever to be in film; and of course there are the two leads, Matt Damon and Leonardo DiCaprio, who are the two cops forced to play roles they never wanted. A cop playing a criminal and a criminal playing a cop. Both actors show us what’s going on inside non-verbally, with vastly different but equally amazing results.

Did I mention that the script kicks ass? I think I did, but it bears repeating. There was really no reason to remake Infernal Affairs, that is until you see this script from William Monahan. Scorsese exploits it with fantastic results. His longtime editor, Thelma Schoonmaker, shows us why she’s one of the best. All and all, you can’t go wrong with this movie. If you’d like to see a great thriller and have complained lately that there is never anything good to see in the theater, well, sit your ass down with this film.

(MUST SEE!)

(October 13)

——Cross of Iron (1977)——

Wow. This movie is something else. You hear “Sam Peckinpah” and “war film” and you think it’s going to be great, but you don’t get too excited because you’ve never heard of this movie before and it’s being released by a no-name company (Hen’s Tooth Video, anyone?). So it can’t be that great, right? One of Peckinpah’s lesser films? Wrong! This movie is crazy, in true Peckinpah fashion.

This is a unique war film in that it is actually about the Germans in World War II on the Russian front as they are starting to really lose the war. As you’ve already probably guessed, this is an anti-war film. James Coburn is Corporal Steiner, a war weathered veteran who doesn’t give a shit for authority and only cares about seeing his men make it out of the next battle alive. He leads his own commando unit behind enemy lines and is overall pretty badass.

Unfortunately he’s come under the command of a weasely Prussian aristocrat who volunteered to leave the cushy job he had on the Western front in order to get an Iron Cross. You see, everyone on the Russian front has Iron Crosses falling out of their asses, but then again no one cares because it is just as likely you will be dead tomorrow. Captain Stransky really wants an Iron Cross to take home with him though, so he invents the story that he lead the successful counterattack against the Russian advance even though he was running around like a chicken with its head cut off while the real hero died doing his duty. Steiner was only one of two officers who saw what really happened. The other is a coward too, afraid that Stransky will turn him over to the Gestapo for being a homosexual (the scene where that is revealed is handled brilliantly in the script).

So what does the anti-authority Steiner do? He tells the Captain to shove his story, of course. And, of course, rather predictably Stransky forgets to tell Steiner’s unit to withdraw from an oncoming Russian advance with the rest of the German army. Don’t feel too bad for Steiner just yet, though. We’re only at about the halfway point of the film.

This is probably one of the most insane war movies that I’ve ever seen. Peckinpah uses his trademark quick editing and slow motion camerawork to full effect here. Despite the fact that he’s obviously working with a low budget you never get that feeling from the camerawork. I was shocked at how big he make his action sequences seem. People blow up left and right from artillery and mortar fire. Instead of feeling like a Hollywood movie, this felt like a real war film. There is sort of a crazy glee to the film though, in that Peckinpah is saying that you’d have to be crazy to keep doing what the Germans were doing when you faced certain defeat every day. Coburn is superb in his role as Corporal Steiner. I believed he was a guy haunted by the fighting but still willing to go out and fight another day. And his laughter at the end of the movie…if that doesn’t say it all, I don’t know what words could say it.

(DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH)

(October 14)

——The Naked Spur (1954)——

The Naked Spur is basically a Western remake of The Treasure of the Sierra Madre, except that the gold is now a man. Which is kind of more interesting. The gold never talked back, had a girlfriend, tried to escape or physically pitted one of the characters against the other. But you get all of that and more in this film.

James Stewart is a rancher turned bounty hunter out to find an outlaw with a $5,000 reward on his head. Before he finds that outlaw, though, he unwillingly acquires the assistance of two other men, an old prospector and a young soldier dishonorably discharged. The three of them capture Stewart’s outlaw and his tagalong lady friend (a feisty Janet Leigh), but when the other two discover how much he’s worth they both want to split things evenly three ways. Stewart wants the whole reward for himself, as he needs the money to buy back his ranch, but he’s also too nice of a guy to bump off the other two. That doesn’t stop Robert Ryan’s outlaw from trying to turn the other two. It’s all one big mind game. One of the best parts is how well Anthony Mann amps up the tension between the five of them. Everyone has choices to make, lines to discover and decisions to make to see if those lines will be crossed. And of course you have the great James Stewart, who pulls off tortured decisions like no one else out there. (See: It’s a Wonderful Life, anything he did with Hitchcock).

The ending to this is pretty good. Very angsty. Plus you’ve got to love a Western that makes use of somewhere other than Monument Valley (in this case we’re in the Rockies.) I liked this enough to pick up a bunch of other Anthony Mann Westerns.

(SEE)

——Emperor of the North (1973)——

On paper this doesn’t sound like a real attention getter. Hobos ride the rails in Depression Era Oregon! Oh my Gawd, this is going to be riveting! Sign me up! But then–surprise, surprise–it actually is really good. Who’d a thunk it? Robert Aldrich has created a funny, exciting thriller about an uber-bum called just A-No. 1 (Lee Marvin) who has taken the challenge to ride the train that cannot be ridden, Engine 19, because of its merciless uber-conductor, Shack (Ernest Borgnine).

No one rides Shack’s train. To ride it is to die. He has no problem at all with whipping a giant wrench at your head, knocking you underneath the wheels of the train. No one rides for free on Shack’s train. Reason number one why you should see this movie: Any movie where Ernest Borgnine plays a crazy maniac is worth seeing. And boy is he crazy in this movie. It’s an understated crazy though. His body and voice never go over the top. But his eyes! That man has some really good crazy eyes.

Anyway, A-No. 1 is famous among the bums for his skills at riding the rails. This guy wrote the handbook on being a hobo (or ‘bo’s, as they are affectionately referred to in this movie). But the first time he attempts to ride Shack’s train, some young punk (Keith Carradine) decides to jump the train with him. He’s just started being a hobo, knows nothing about being one, and is extremely obnoxious to boot. He thinks he’s just as good a hobo as A-No. 1 is, if not better, and when he’s confused with A-No. 1 after being caught riding Shack’s train, he takes all of the credit. A-No. 1 takes the challenge to ride all the way to Portland, but unfortunately for him the punk decides to join him. First he tries to ditch the kid, then he tries to teach him. A punk is just a punk though.

Which leads me to reason number two why you should see this movie: the fight between Shack and A-No. 1 at the end of the movie. What a kick-ass fight! It’s brutal and slightly amusing. Hobo fights don’t get any better. The whole movie is kind of like that. Except for the beginning of the movie. They play this extremely lame song at the beginning called “A Man and a Train” that offers up such nuggets of wisdom as: “A man is not a train and a train is not a man.” Wow, you’re blowing my mind, man! After that slight miscalculation though, the movie amps up the entertainment.

(MUST SEE)

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

You’d Think an Obsessive-Compulsive Neat Freak Would Clean Their Room Every Once and a While

Last night I finally unpacked my bag from Seattle.

[Uh, didn’t he come back from Seattle over two weeks ago?]

Yes, I know. I’m a bit of a slacker. I just really hate to do anything that might make it look like I could be a productive member of society.

Why the sudden change of heart? Well, there was the whole fact that I had to do a daily gymnastics routine in my room just to get a clean pair of underwear. But no, that’s not it. It’s amazing what you will put up with in the name of laziness. No, the problem was that if I didn’t put my clothes away, why put anything else away? That philosophy quickly changed my room from a quirky mess into a New Jersey garbage dump. It always amazes me that every time I clean my room I have to take multiple trips to the garbage can. I have way too much stuff and absolutely nowhere to put it, but eh, what are you going to do?

My room is still not neat, per se, but you can walk from one corner to the other, and in my book that makes today a good day.

——

PS-For some reason LiveJournal has been adding four hours onto the timestamp of my posts recently, making me constantly having to check and change them. Is this happening to anyone else? Does anyone else know how to fix this problem?

Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

The Must List

I just now realized that I never made a Must List for September. I’m sorry. Unfortunately, I’ve known for a long time that I’ve had a crap load of movie reviews to write for you people. Soon enough I’ll figure out how to get back into the groove of writing again and I’ll try to catch up for you. Until then you’ll have to settle for this list.

September was a very light month for me. I only saw 29 films last month, which for a normal person is quite a bit but for me is shockingly light. Less than a movie a day? What the hell is wrong with you, Ben? In my defense I did go to Washington state for a week, where I didn’t see a single film. So, 29 movies in three weeks? That’s a little more like it for me. Anywho, here are my picks for last month, in no particular order:

SEPTEMBER
Vanishing Point
Paris, Texas
Crank
Lonesome Jim
Film Geek

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I’m feeling surprisingly apathetic tonight.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

It is Taunting Me, I Know It

I almost never turn on my old computer from college. Why bother? It’s super slow. Everything I need is on my laptop. But the one thing it does have that my laptop doesn’t is two CD drives. In college I installed a CD burner, which makes it super easy to make one CD into two in no time flat. So, every once and a while when there is a CD I want to copy for a friend or for myself I’ll fire up the ol’ computer so that I can get burnin’.

Problem is, it seems that my old CD-ROM drive has developed a crisis of conscience when it comes to copying CDs. I don’t know. Maybe a music industry lawyer got to it or something. It thinks that it never signed on for this new job and seems hell bent on keeping me from pirating music. Little bastard.

After turning on my computer it will take me forever to get the damn drawer open. I hit the eject button. It doesn’t open. I tap it again. Nothing. I start tapping it multiple times. Try again later! I hit the side of the PC. Nadda. I smack the top. Zippo. I pick the front of the PC up and drop it. The little yellow light blinks, but no one is home.

And I’ll keep doing this in several variations for between five and fifteen minutes. Every frakin’ time I turn on my computer. It, as you can imagine, is a major pain in the ass. And what’s weirder still is that I can open and close the drawer a billion times after I get it open that first time, whereas seconds before the endeavor was akin to breaking into Fort Knox. It’s the weirdest damn thing.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Is It Just Me?

Is it just me, or are Lee Marvin and James Coburn the same fraking guy? Seriously, last night I watched a James Coburn movie. Tonight I watched a Lee Marvin movie. They’re the same guy! I can never tell the difference. Someone, please, help!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment