This Makes The Cold All Worth It

The full moon’s glow on a fresh winter’s snow; is there anything more beautiful than that? That amazingly vibrant color of blue is found nowhere else in the natural world, and I love it. My favorite part of All That Heaven Allows is that scene in front of the huge window in Rock Hudson’s Mill/House, where everything is basked in that winter’s night snow blue. It’s not a color you see very often in Hollywood, probably because most filmmakers haven’t ever seen that light, or at least can’t remember it after being stuck so long in the hot California sun. If I ever move somewhere warmer, this is what I’ll miss most.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

SNOW!

Hey there, white stuff. Long time no see. Glad to see you finally made an official appearance this year. Maybe you’ll stick around longer this time. We’ll see. Anyway, it’s just good to see you back.

Love,
Ben

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

It Just Doesn’t Get Any Better

It is true. I have a tendency when recommending things to you kind folks to go a little overboard in my praise when I see something I like. If I see something I think is special or different or just really cool, I’ll share that enthusiasm to such a degree that at times some might pick up what I have recommended and wonder, “What the hell is he on?” It’s like that old discussion we’ve all had with that friend that uses the word “love” a little too much. “I love this movie! Could I love strawberries any more?!! You don’t know how much I love dryer lint!!!”

I provide this disclaimer because I really want to stress how much I love what I’m about to force down your throats again. I’ve recommended it at least once before, if not more. And guess what? It is still awesome.

I’m talking, of course, of Robert Kirkman’s amazing and incredible comic series, Invincible. This comic makes all other comics look like steaming piles of dog…well, you get the idea. Volume Seven came in the mail today. 

You keep saying to yourself, OK, this is going to be the one where things start to go downhill. The guy has got to be running out of good ideas. But not only has Kirkman not run out of good ideas, he’s regularly come up with BETTER ones. It’s rare you find anything–much less a comic–that can make your jaw drop consistently every issue.

Invincible is a comic both for people who have never picked up a comic before and for the hardcore addicts out there. If you watch Heroes, TRUST ME, you’ll love reading this. It starts out at square one and slowly builds into this enormous universe filled with interesting characters and numerous side plots that you just know are going to come back into the storyline in the future in some big way. Surprises are around every corner. But what really makes the series work is how down to earth the dialogue manages to be in these, frankly, incredible and unbelievable situations. People talk like real people talk, act like they should act, and behave in a way that is totally believable…in a world where superheroes save the day from interdimensional galactic baddies on a regular basis. And it’s funny. Really funny. I love every character in this, even the characters I hate because the writing is just…that…good. The writing is so effective that you can balance a scene of Mark just talking to an old friend, trying to decide which of two girls he likes with another story of a mad scientist, master of different dimensions, seeking revenge against Mark for turning him into a deformed freak with his oversized brain running down his back, without having the whole thing feeling forced or trite. You believe every second of it and every crazy plot twist without question because it is written so good and has you so breathlessly awaiting the turn of the next page.

I haven’t even gotten to talking about Ryan Ottley’s pencils, which deserve an award for getting across Kirkman’s crazy ideas with a breezy ease that makes it look like the comic just magically appeared perfect on your doorstep one day. How he comes up with all of these character ideas, these new poses, these perfect reaction shots, I’ll never know. Every Invincible trade comes with a liberal amount of sketches in the back, which are almost better than reading the actual comic. I love it. If you are interested, start here. But beware: once you start you’ll be hooked for life.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

RIP Mr. Bunny

I was a little distressed last night that I killed a poor little bunny with my car. As I was driving home it ran out to the center line of Pine Valley, ran back towards the side of the road that it came from when it saw the lights, then ran back towards the center line in a moment of indecision before turning around and running again to the side of the road. If it just stayed on its present course of travel it would have harmlessly traveled under my car (abet while also scaring the bunny half to death anyway). Unfortuntely this bunny was extremely indecisive and he made another break for the center line, which turned out to be the last thing he ever did. That really sucked.

To make matters worse, this morning he was still there in the middle of the road. Sorry, Bunny. Good luck where ever you are.

Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Very Sleepy

Just finished my first (and maybe last) South African film festival. Ah, the fun that you can have home alone.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

TV Watch

Can I just say how absolutely in love with Taylor on the O.C. I am? Could she be any more adorable?

In other news…there is way too much good TV on Thursdays. I’m having good TV overload here people.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I feel funny.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Quick, DON’T LOOK AT MY LAST POST!

Well, the Dean was part of a mystery, alright, but not exactly the one I guessed. Looking back on it now, I realize that it was kind of stupid to guess that the Dean was the rapist. I mean, wouldn’t someone notice the Dean at a party or in the dorms? Uh, duh. Also duh was the revelation that it was Mo and Mercer. Really, that’s the big reveal? It all seemed too obvious to be true. The only true shock was that the two of them were working together. One mystery never resolved? Why the hell did he shave their heads afterwards? And why did Mo get the hair, instead of Mercer? Color me confused. What a weak mystery. Let’s hope the Dean murder mystery is more dramatic. My fine detective skills knew that something weird was going on with him. What they didn’t pick up on was that it was just the writers setting up the next story arc.

Another big mystery of the night? How Gilmore Girls suddenly got good again. Seriously, last week was not one of the worst episodes of the show ever, but THE WORST EPISODE EVER. I mean, the only thing worse was the Aerie Tuesdays crap they put on after it. Could someone please shoot the Aerie girls? Please? But I digress. If you tuned in tonight and weren’t paying attention you might have thought that it was a repeat from last season, because it was actually kind of good, and really surprising, it was funny. When did that happen? I think the key to tonight’s success was focusing on someone other than the two main Gilmore Girls for once. They’ve been getting way too mopey. What this episode had that we’ve been missing for a long time: The elder Gilmores and Friday night dinner; Paris being weird, but not being bitter about not being editor of the Yale newspaper; Luke’s extended family; Luke with a backbone, telling off April’s mom; and everyone else in Star’s Hollow not working at the Inn. Oh, and JOKES! Funny, the writers remembered that this show was mainly a comedy and they included some jokes this week.

And hell, if the writers would just have Luke punch Christopher again instead of just repeatedly showing it in previews for (not) next week, that would help too.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

My Best Guess

OK, before tonight’s Veronica Mars airs I want to throw out my guess as to who the Hearst serial rapist is, so that if I’m right and I go bragging about it tomorrow, I’ll have proof that I actually did guess correctly so that no one can say that I’m making it all up. And if I’m wrong? Well, I can always just delete the post. Anyway, I think the rapist is: The Dean! Something about that guy just rubs me the wrong way. And he’s had access to Veronica before (remember when she ate with him in the food court?) and he seemed all too oblivious to her riffling through his cabnets in the next room over. He also doesn’t seem to give a crap if anyone finds the rapist. Maybe because it is…him???!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

You know you’d buy that CD

Ross was over at my house with me today, and when talking with my parents my mom asked me what kind of bands Ross liked. I was at a loss for words because I couldn’t think of anyone she would actually know. We joked around, to which she said that he probably liked the “French Zippers.” Not only did it actually sound like a real band name, but I think it’s kind of catchy. That’s it. If I ever start a band, I’m calling us the French Zippers.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment