Best Response Ever

Today was especially slow at work, so I took it upon myself to start up a tiny game of “Would you rather…?” It didn’t start out very special. Then talk of Britney Spears’ recent lack of undergarments inspired for me a new question.

My question to Garth was: “Of the following strung-out party girls, which would you rather have as a girlfriend: Britney Spears, Paris Hilton, or Lindsey Lohan?”

After taking a second to think, Garth replied, “Paris Hilton,” and right before I could ask why, he added, “I’d just be really mean to her.”

Oh man, that took me by surprise. I don’t think anyone could have given a better response to that question. Hilarious.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Surprisingly open…and random

So I had a plan. I was thinking that this summer I would make my big move to Seattle. I would do so by the miraculous opening of the Assistant Manager position in downtown Seattle. It would open, I would apply, they would instantly love me, I’d pack my stuff and “Hello, Seattle!”

Life likes to mess with you.

The position opened up TODAY. Dammit! Too soon! I had things I wanted to get done first.

[Side note: What is with banner ads that flash fifty times a second like a strobe light, sending me into a seizure? Seriously, who would click on that? Maybe they think I’ll try to beat the ad to death with my mouse, and in doing so accidentally click on it? That is, if the convulsions haven’t killed me yet.]

Anyway, back to my story.

For a while today I went back and forth in my mind as to whether or not I should apply. Could I really just pick up and leave everything right now with no preparations, whatsoever. Turns out the answer is no. In my current state of mind I would be living in a cardboard box, fighting over scraps of garbage with the other homeless crazies…that is if I ever actually MADE it to Seattle in one piece.

I can basically do anything. That’s no mild boast. Anything I’ve ever wanted to accomplish, I’ve done. The key to that statement is the “want” part. I’m also the world’s largest procrastinator. If I don’t want to do something, then forget about it.

I’ll get to Seattle. Don’t you cry for me, Argentina. Because I know that you Argentinean readers are very worried for me. Everything happens for a reason. I had a talk with my parents tonight about it (which is odd, because I tell my parents about my life just about as often as they tell me when they are planning to go somewhere on the weekend and leave the dogs with me, which is to say, never). We all agreed that the key to life is to just be happy. Life just happens. Something happens, you react and vola! Life! Planning for something is like trying to wrestle down an oiled pig, which is to say, very difficult. You mainly just go with the flow. The key is to be happy with the cards you are dealt. [I’ve sure used a lot of metaphors in this paragraph, now haven’t I?]

So I’m sure, randomly, I’ll just get up and leave one day. Just you wait.

[Side note: Speaking of oiled pigs, tonight I also mentioned to my parents that I was considering giving up pork. A while back I read an article in Rolling Stone about the hog industry that was truly one of the most disgusting things that I have ever read. Concurrently, the last couple times I’ve eaten pork I’ve gotten this really weird aftertaste in my mouth that won’t go away for days. It makes me feel ill. Today really sealed the deal. I had pork twice today and couldn’t finish it either time. I thought I was going to be sick. (Of course, I am sick, so that might have just a LITTLE to do with it.)

I’ve always been a really fussy eater, anyway. I was never a big fan of pig to begin with. I’ve always hated ham.

I’m not sure I could do without pepperoni for my pizza and an occasional slice of bacon, but pork? I’m going to try and say no to you from now on. Baby steps, you know. I guess that if you hang out with hippies and vegans as long as I have, it is sure to rub off on you sometime.]

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Personal Pet Peeves

You know what I hate? Putting police sirens in music. There is nothing worse than driving down the highway and then suddenly hearing a siren right there, worrying you, wondering “Where the hell did that cop come from?”

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Uhhnnnn

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. I’ve been sick. Sorry. Feeling much better now though, thank you!

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

New Year’s Resolutions

It doesn’t say anywhere that you have to do this immediately after the New Year, am I right?  It’s still January.

1) I will ask the extremely cute girl at the bank out.  

Man, I haven’t had a crush this bad in a loooong time.  She looks like a combination of Anne Hathaway and that girl I saw in Ms. 45.  She’s very friendly, and seems nice.  The only problem is, every time I walk into the bank to pick up the store’s deposit slips, she’s never available so I can just get in her line and start the lame chit-chat.  

Today when I went in, two windows were open.  Guess which one wasn’t available.  Some girl was telling my teller this very animated story and just wouldn’t shut up.  My eyes kept darting back and forth, praying that God would zap her with a thunderbolt or something to make her go away.  Meanwhile I couldn’t just look at the other girl doing nothing and say, “Um, no, I like this line better.  Thank you!”

To add insult to injury, just as I started pulling my car away, talking girl leaves the bank.  Dammit!  Of course, now it will take me at least six months to get the opportunity (or work up the courage) to say something lame, to which I will inevitably discover that I’m barking up the wrong tree.  I can’t wait.

2) For once I’ll actually save some money.

And if not, at least I’ll spent that money that should have been saved on something that doesn’t have the letters D, V, or D in it.

3) I will get into some sort of shape.

Any shape will do.  I’m not asking for a miracle.  I just need people to stop looking for me whenever I turn sideways.

4) I will do at least one of the following, if not both: Travel outside of the country/Move West.

It would be really interesting if I actually followed through on something and moved to Seattle this year.  The only thing that should be able to trump a move is a success with Resolution #1.  

Also, I’ve really wanted to visit another country for a long time now.  Australia is the current flavor of the month.   We’ll see…

5) I will actually post the Monday Movie Review at least five times this year on a Monday.

Because, really, is that too much to ask?  Uh, well….apparently so.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Monday Movie Review

One more week and we are all back to being caught up.  The first six films reviewed are the reason everything is so late now.  Oh, but it was so worth it.

(January 8)

——Little Children (2006)——

The first six films on this list constitute Moviepalooza 2007, where I actually went to see six movies at four different theaters over two days. Why’d I do it? Why the hell not? When you break as many crazy personal records as I have the last couple years, you need to find new (read: easier) records to break. So I spent my two days off either in a theater, or in my car, ferrying me to a theater. Little Children was the first film I saw and it started Moviepalooza 2007 off with a bang. It was probably my favorite of the six, although another movie with the word “Children” comes awfully close in my mind.

Little Children is one of those strange indie movies that I come across every six months or so that just so completely blows my mind that I can’t help talking about it enthusiastically. The story on its own doesn’t sound all that spectacular. Two bored and lonely stay at home parents meet after taking their little children to the park and have adulterous affair, while there is a parallel story involving a recently released child molester moving into the neighborhood. On the surface it is nothing you haven’t seen in numerous other indie films. What really sold the movie for me though was Todd Field’s tone. I can’t think of another film that uses an abstract, omnipresent narrator like this film does, one who tells us what the main characters are thinking in a rather detached, godlike manner, very novel-like. It feels like you are reading a good book instead of watching a film, one that pulls no punches and plays out just the way you would picture it in your head. The acting, writing, directing is all fantastic, rich, detailed and exciting. The sex in it is raw and surprising. All and all, I’d say that you’d have to work really hard to find filmmaking this good in many other places.

(MUST SEE)

——Perfume: The Story of a Murderer (2006)——

Chance or fate made me see this movie, because The Queen was originally supposed to be seen in its place (a film I STILL have yet to drag myself to see). Despite the fact that I had six movies on my list of things I wanted to see this week, Perfume was not on it. Mainly because I had never heard of it, nor knew anything about it. Harry really wanted to see it though because he’s a huge fan of the director (most famous for having done Run, Lola, Run) but didn’t want to see it directly after Children of Men (he’s not into the marathon thing, like I am.) So as I got ready to see Little Children and saw that they were also playing Perfume at that same theater, sooner than The Queen, I called him and asked him if he’d like to see it Monday instead of Tuesday after Children of Men. He had been looking for someone to see it with, so everybody won.

Boy am I glad he convinced me to see it, because this is a wonderful, if extremely weird (read: wonderful) film. The story is of a boy born in Paris and left for dead many times in his pathetic life. He resists death though, because he has an amazing gift that he knows will make him special. He has a perfect sense of smell. Perfect. Unfortunately he goes from the crumbling orphanage to a skin tanner and never really gets to use that superior sense of smell, that is until one day when he gets to take a trip into Paris. Suddenly he smells all the various lovely scents there is to smell, from fresh food to perfume to a woman, a woman with a seemingly perfect scent. He follows her, trying to scoop up her scent, but he scares her and ends up killing her trying to keep her from screaming. As she dies and her soul escapes her body, he finds that her scent goes with her. He’s lost perfection. He spends most of the rest of the movie trying to learn how to keep a scent forever, and in doing so takes up the profession of perfume maker.

He’s a tad obsessed with this task at hand. Once he actually does figure out how to harvest scent he goes on a killing spree in order to combine all of these scents to make the perfect perfume. And then THAT is when things get really interesting. Without spoiling anything for you, I will say that this movie has one of the most bizarre (in a good way) endings that I’ve ever seen.

(SEE)

——Rocky Balboa (2006)——

Rocky Balboa is a proper ending to the Rocky saga. It’s not perfect, but neither is any of the films after the first, but like Rocky, this movie’s got heart. For the first time in a long while the story is actually about something. The dialogue, especially that of the first half of the film, is the best of the series behind the original Rocky, in that it finally gets back to the spirit and freshness of the first film. It’s just Rocky being Rocky, wandering around Philly, showing us why we liked him in the first place. The film only starts to fall apart a little in the climatic fight, which feels bland and slapped together. The editing and the choice to make the POV that of the pay-per-view broadcast does the movie no favors. But that is a minor complaint. Otherwise Rocky has yet again come from behind to be a winner. Believe it or not, Stallone has gone the distance with this series. Now let’s see if he can do the same with Rambo IV.

In a way this film reminded me, oddly enough, of Francois Truffaut’s Love on the Run, the final part of his series of films about Antoine Doinel, known to most as the child in The 400 Blows. In both films, clips from the rest of the series are used to reminisce about past events in order to offer some sort of closure to the series. Here Rocky is trying to get over the death of Adrienne, which has left an empty hole in his life that’s not helped out by the fact that he no longer has a boxing career and his son pretends like he’s not even related. He now tells the same fight stories of his career over and over again at his restaurant, with little to look forward to other than the next anniversary of Adrienne’s death. He needs to move forward and he does so by getting back in the ring again for one more fight, just to prove that he can still do it and his life is still worth something. And because he’s Rocky, he helps everyone else around him move forward too. Because what would Rocky be to us, if he weren’t such an inspiration, that anything worth doing is worth fighting for with every ounce of energy you have.

(SEE)

(January 9)

——Children of Men (2006)——

Alfonso Cuaron is quickly becoming a Must See director, having broke out with his great Mexican film, Y Tu Mama Tambien, and then following that up with the best Harry Potter film so far, The Prisoner of Azkaban, which brought some real artistry to a series plagued by Chris Columbus’ soulless direction. Anyone would be pleased having those two films on their resume, but Alfonso had to push the bar even higher with this film, Children of Men, which like any magnificent film, will stay with you long after you watch it. From start to finish this film is a slam-dunk, not just any slam-dunk, but a Michael Jordan slam dunk. It’s been a while since Sci-Fi has been done right, so long that you forget why the genre is even worth having around. This movie shows you why.

In the near future, women have stopped having babies. It’s been over eighteen years since the last baby was born and in the meantime the world has gone to hell in a hand basket. The rest of the world is in ruins from rioting and war, and England stands alone as a sanctuary for civilization. But just barely. Suicide bombings are commonplace. The city looks less like London and more like Baghdad, if designed by George Orwell. Illegal immigrants stream over the borders but are quickly captured and detained before being deported from a horrible prison city that will remind you very much of a certain Iraqi prison.

Theo (the always amazing Clive Owen) has had it with this existence. The only thing that keeps him going is his visits to his pot smoking, activist friend Jasper (the always amazing Michael Caine). Then his ex-wife (Julianne Moore) comes out of nowhere to give him a very important task. Transport a girl to the coast. It just happens to turn out that that girl is the first pregnant woman the world has seen in a very, very long time.

Cuaron makes magic with this premise. His camerawork is breathtaking. There are several very long tracking shots that measure up with the very best in cinema history, shots so long but transparently so that you suddenly have this moment where you stop and ask yourself, “Wait, when is the last time the camera actually cut?” It’s filmmaking at its best, totally transporting you into this world full throttle. It brings a gritty realism to the film that will haunt you for days. I loved it. Do yourself a favor and find this movie at the nearest theater to you, so that you can immediately watch it. It’s a shame that this film will probably be overlooked for Best Picture in the coming Oscar race, because it deserves a top spot way more than a lot of other lesser films out there.

(DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH)

——Deliver Us From Evil (2006)——

Moviepalooza 2007 ended at Images Cinema in Williamstown, where I saw possibly the cheapest double header ever. Two movies. Five bucks. That’s right kids, that was $2.50 EACH. What a bargain for two excellent documentaries. Deliver Us From Evil was by far the better of the two. This film is about child molestation by Catholic priests, the impact it makes on the faithful who feel betrayed by their clergy, and the Roman Catholic institution that shelters these men from prosecution instead of protecting the innocent children. The film does so by telling the story of one such priest in California who molested hundreds of children. You ask yourself, How could they not know this was happening? Well, they did know. Eventually someone would come forward and accuse him, but instead of doing something about it, his bishop just sent him to one parish after another, where he continued to victimize children and the Church continued to look away.

How could this happen? Well, when you have an organization based on power and its members are considered closest to God, it doesn’t really help if some of your members punch a giant hole in that theory. What’s bizarre is that this problem has been a problem in the Catholic Church for quite some time now and yet they still refused to do anything about it. It boggles the mind that an institution that prides itself as the shepherd tending the flock would so willingly let the wolves in, dressed as their own.

What a powerful, emotional, moving documentary. Be prepared, because it is going to knock you for a loop. The emotions captured in this film are real and quite raw and amazingly enough, the film remains focused enough to present the facts without preaching from the pulpit. Because God knows, there has been enough of that lately.

(MUST SEE)

——Dixie Chicks: Shut Up and Sing (2006)——

When the Dixie Chicks made an offhand comment in a British concert hall on the eve of the invasion of Iraq, they didn’t think anyone in America would ever hear it. But amazingly enough, some right wing nutjob took a hold of the phrase “I’m ashamed that our President is from Texas” and used it to damn what were the highest selling female artists ever in music history. Over night radio stations stopped playing their songs and concerts became picket lines peppered with death threats. This documentary is about that time after the comment was made intercut with footage of the Chicks making their new album, which ironically enough is their most political and yet also is probably their best album yet. The film is about how they refused to compromise their values just to stay true to their core audience and how they decided to strike it out on their own. Unfortunately they will probably never reach their former glory again, but one gets the feeling that they wouldn’t have it any other way. What’s horrible is that history has proved them right. The Iraq War is by almost all accounts a disaster and Bush’s approval rating is at a record low. Even though I don’t listen to their music, I wish them all the luck in the future with what they are doing. The Red States should take a cue from these girls to see what a real American actually looks like, one that actually believes that Free Speech should be free no matter what you have to say.

(SEE)

(January 10/14)

——When the Levees Broke (Acts I & II/III IV)——

After watching Spike Lee’s heartbreaking four-hour HBO documentary about Hurricane Katrina and its aftereffects on New Orleans, I hate to say it, but I think I agree with Kanye West. George Bush does hate black people. How else to explain what happened here? How is it that we can get aid to Tsunami victims in less than 48 hours but it takes weeks to get aid to our fellow Americans? These poor people had to survive hellish conditions and are still suffering. No one gives a shit about them. FEMA and the insurance companies have fucked them over hard. It’s enough to make you want to shout out in rage.

This is a great documentary, told mainly straight from the horse’s mouth of those people who were there and what they saw first hand. It is an extremely comprehensive documentary, fair and yet angry, not from Lee himself but from those who are victims of it. Lee does an amazing job of letting the events and the people speak for themselves and keeps himself out of it. What follows will just blow your mind.

The film was broke into four parts. The first two are mainly about the hurricane and the flood, while the second two are about what happened after FEMA and the military finally rode in, but still failed to help these poor unfortunate people.

(MUST SEE)

(January 12)

——The Black Dahlia (2006)——

The problem with this film (which I reviewed last year) is that it just breezes by too quickly. It feels like Brian De Palma wanted to hit every major plot point in the book, and did it, but neglected everything else in doing so. The characters never get the depth they really deserve. If anything, I think this movie should be longer. It needs some time to slow burn, to let the mystery slowly unravel before our eyes. You don’t get that here. Everything happens so quickly that once the mystery is revealed at the end, you’ll need a scorecard to keep track of what the hell just happened. It’s one reveal after another, without any dramatic impact.

(MISS)

(January 13)

——Crank (2006)——

Crank is so fucked up, it’s awesome. It’s a non-stop video game thrill ride, trashy as hell, but unapologeticly so. You’ve got to commend the filmmakers for taking an extreme idea and just running with it. So many movies would have held back, played it safe, but not Crank. Oh, not Crank. There is a definite reason that I named it one of the Must See films of September (see previous review).

(MUST SEE)

——Alfie (1965)——

Jesus, this movie is depressing. I wasn’t prepared for that at all, and I’ve seen the remake with Jude Law already. Alfie has to be the world’s biggest misogynistic asshole, tearing through women as if they just don’t matter. On more than a few occasions he even refers to these birds he sleeps with as “it,” showing us he doesn’t even see them as fellow human beings. Their feelings just don’t matter. It’s hard stuff to watch.

It’s a good thing that the movie is still pretty good, or else it wouldn’t even be worth mentioning. A lot of credit, of course, is due to Michael Caine, who makes you understand why a woman would love him even if they hate him. He’s a suave little bastard and it will surprise you how much you like him even when you’re appalled at his behavior. Alfie as a character takes his good time learning how to grow as a person. It happens, but it is very slow and gradual, as everything he’s taught himself as the proper way to live life proves itself to be but hollow promises. Things start changing for him when he has a kid, who he grows attached to, but is then taken away from him by his under-appreciated mother. Alfie pretends that the kid really doesn’t mean much to him, but he does, and while he could really care less about the child’s mother, the loss of his own flesh and blood has an effect on Alfie that he never though possible. Not that it changes his behavior any, at least not at first. He still womanizes and cheats. But as he yearns for another human relationship like that between he and his child and doesn’t find it, things start to pull a little more in focus for him. Maybe there is a little bit of humanity in Alfie after all.

(SEE)

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Monday Movie Review (Returns!)

OK, so I didn’t do so hot last year, towards the end of the year.  And I’m technically a little late with my New Year restart, being two weeks late and this not actually being a Monday.  But it’s back, so quit your bitching.  I’ve got some reviews for you from the first week of 2007.  Hopefully I’ll learn about a little virtue called “Discipline” and get things back on track for you folks in the future.  Until then, let the slacking continue!

(January 1)

——Beerfest (2006)——

How many times have I seen this movie now? Four, five? And it’s only been out since August. So yeah, it’s good. Avoid the Unrated cut. See this theatrical cut, if you’re in for a good giggle.

(MUST SEE)

(January 2)

——Dreamgirls (2006)——

While I disliked a movie like Chicago, I actually really liked Dreamgirls. At times I did feel like there was a little TOO much singing (I don’t mind singing to move the plot forward, but what I really hate is when characters sing their lines instead of just saying them. I don’t understand why this is, but when characters do that it is akin to dragging your fingers down the chalkboard), but aside from that minor complaint, this is a really compelling movie with some great music and acting from its leads. It bothers me to no end, though, that Jennifer Hudson is billed as a supporting character and Beyonce as a lead, because this is Effie’s movie, and Beyonce just visits it from time to time. The decision has everything to do with politics and nothing to do with logic, and it’s a shame, but if Jennifer Hudson does get an Oscar out of it I guess that it’ll all be all right.

I only bring this up because Jennifer Hudson does such a good job with Effie’s character that she really just makes the movie, for me at least. Dreamgirls otherwise would have been a nice, if unremarkable movie, but with her the film just drips with emotion. It’s great. The film is a classic story of how the entertainment industry will take bright-eyed young talent and slowly twist and discard that idealism until nothing is left. It’s a world that will chew you up and spit you out, which is most evident in Effie’s story, where even though she’s the real talent in the group, she’s booted for being too “black” over Beyonce’s bootyliciousness. The film reminded me a lot of The Valley of the Dolls, except for in this film the girls seem more empowered than the pill-popping white chicks of Dolls. Effie, even though she is beaten to the ground and down on her luck, never loses that fire in her gut that made her such a powerhouse singer in the first place.

The cast all around is great (I pick on Beyonce, but she really does give a great performance at the end when her character finally pulls her head out of the sand and develops some personality). And what’s really fun is to try and look for all of the allusions to real black performers who made it big at this time period in music, since the film is really just a thinly veiled dramatic retelling of their stories (Diana Ross, the Supremes, The Jackson Five, Marvin Gaye, James Brown, etc. etc.). Above all it is just a great story of the history of black music on popular radio, about how black music was always popular but was ripped off and filtered through white performers, and about the people who struggled to have their music played the way they intended it. This is definitely worth a viewing.

(SEE)

——Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story (2004)——

This movie is so funny. I’m surprised that no one has ever heard of it, that it has gotten zero publicity. I guess it was just destined to be one of those word of mouth films. So here is the straight word from my mouth: If you are looking for the best damn mockumentary about paintball from some of the guys from the Daily Show, then look no further. And, um, even if you are not looking specifically for that (because, really, who the hell is?) see this movie anyway if you like to laugh, because it is so, so funny. It’s worth watching if just for the match against the Canadians, which gets about as close to comedy genius as one can get (see my original review for more).

(MUST SEE)

(January 3)

——The Good Shepherd (2006)——

Despite how funny I find Team America: World Police’s spoof impression of Matt Damon’s personality (“MATT DAMON!”), you can’t argue with what a powerful actor he’s become recently, from the Bourne films to last year’s The Departed and now The Good Shepherd. It came to me while watching The Good Shepherd that he’s become this generation’s Clint Eastwood, a performer who can say volumes without saying a word. He’s got a slow burn intensity to him that just makes him magnificent to watch onscreen. One needs only look at his body language in this film about one man’s journey during the rise of the CIA: he starts out as a young man erect and enthusiastic, but as the secrets he needs to keep start to pile up you can see when he walks this gigantic weight on his shoulders that is pushing him down. After the Bay of Pigs fiasco goes down you don’t need him to say a word to know instantly what he is thinking. The trick is that his character is ever the good soldier (or shepherd, as the case may be) and despite those many secrets wearing him down he still chooses to keep them, in the name of national security and the security of his family. He’s good at what he does and his secret is that he always seems to be one step ahead of his enemy, maybe just because he never gives anything away himself.

Robert De Niro does a great job at directing this story, which at its length (two and a half hours) could have fallen apart quickly. I really liked how the story of the fallout on the Bay of Pigs served as the perfect frame for telling the story of this man’s life, from his days at Yale and the Skull and Bones to life in the OSS during World War II to finally starting up the CIA with other spooks left over from the last World War, preparing for the Cold War. For those interested in espionage thrillers, look no further than The Good Shepherd.

(MUST SEE)

——The Great Yokai War (2005)——

Say what you will about Takashi Miike, no matter the quality of the film he makes, he always makes interesting films. The Great Yokai War, Miike’s answer to Harry Potter, is not a great film, but it is so overwhelmingly bizarre and fantastical that you might just want to see it anyway. A ten-year old boy is chosen at a festival to be the Kirin Rider, a duty much bigger than anyone could have guessed, since it involves stopping a mad spirit from using the souls of Yokai to power his death machines that will take over the world. The Yokai (friendly spirits) are too busy having fun to help him, so it is up to him and a few concerned Yokai to save the day. Weirdness ensues. Lots of weirdness. Like ten-year old boys fondling the wet thighs of a water sprite. Doomsday calves with human faces. The Yokai party where millions of them show up to a fight, with none of them realizing that they are at a fight. And to see a Yokai as an adult, apparently you have to drink a lot of beer. Don’t ask me. I’m just living in Miike’s world.

(MISS)

——Body Snatchers (1993)——

The third time this film was made, this time by cult director Abel Ferrara, was not the charm, and none of Ferrara’s trademark beautiful camera work could save the film from being dreadfully boring. There is a huge scriptwriting problem here, as there is A) nothing new here to differentiate it from the two other, better films, and B) it is horribly underwritten, as good ideas seemed to be thrown out just as soon as they were thought. The science fiction story of waking up to find that your neighbors and then family are not who they appear to be lends itself superbly to analogies of real world issues. The original film was an excellent metaphor for Communism and MacCarthy-ism. This one throws out there some vague idea about conformity in the military, as the story this time takes place on a military base, but follows that idea nowhere. It also had a great opportunity in the form of the stepmother being the first one to be changed into one of the body snatchers, but again, the story goes nowhere with this, despite the wealth of directions it could go in. It’s like everyone just slept their way through the making of the film, which was then replaced with a blander, pod person version of the film. Even the gore and nudity seems slapped on. When that’s the case, you know your movie is in trouble.

(MISS)

(January 5)

——The Far Country (1954)——

“I am NOT a freckle face!”

I don’t care how many times I hear her say that, it never stops being funny to me. In this Anthony Mann Western, James Stewart’s flawed cowboy keeps calling a young, resourceful Scandinavian girl a freckle face, and every time he does so she gets very upset with him, in her heavily accented speech. She’s in love with him, you see, and doesn’t like that he treats her like a kid. Thus, one of my all-time favorite film catch phrases.

That phrase kind of sums up the movie as a whole in a way, because in this film James Stewart is probably one of the biggest pricks that I’ve ever seen him be. He’s a selfish prick, to put it better, unlike most of the selfless cowboys that you are used to seeing in classic Westerns. He cares about no one aside from himself, and even his good friend played by Walter Brennan has to step into line with him or else be left behind, despite their years of friendship. A corrupt self-appointed lawman is looking to expand his reach from the coastal town he lives in to the gold claims in the Yukon territory, where kind, honest folk are trying to make a good living for themselves and build a new town. He runs everyone out of town while Stewart looks on, because other people’s problems aren’t his problems. That is until the lawman’s men jump him and Brennan, fatally shooting Brennan and wounding him. Finally he sees that helping others helps him too and goes back to town to do the right thing.

This is another one of Mann’s dark Westerns, not as good as some of the others that I’ve seen, but still pretty decent. And hell, it’s got the classic phrase, “I am NOT a freckle face!” so it is worth at least one viewing for that alone.

(SEE)

——To Live (1994)——

Jeremy’s wife, Sarah, gave this Zhang Yimou film to me with high recommendation and I think I’m going to do the same for you. It’s a sad movie, but very good, following forty years in the life of a Chinese family following World War II. A wealthy landowner loses his family’s fortune gambling, causing his wife (Gong Li) to take his son and daughter and leave him. This tragedy makes him vow to give up gambling and earn the respect of his family again, and he does so by trying to earn an honest living doing shadow puppet shows. While he is doing this the Cultural Revolution takes place, and he ends up drafted into first the Nationalist and then the Communist armies. His service with the Communists, combined with his loss of landowner status saves him and his family once the Revolution makes its way into his small town. All is not well with the world at that point though. The Revolution causes the family much suffering in their life. But the film is still hopeful, nevertheless, because like the title implies, the whole point of the film is that it is just a gift to live, and we should try to do as much with our lives as we can, no matter what obstacles life throws at us. The film is extremely touching, yet sad. Be sure to have a box of Kleenex nearby while you enjoy this beautiful film.

(MUST SEE)

(January 6)

——Inside Man (2006)——

Spike Lee’s first commercial hit actually seemed better the second time around, as you got to take your time to enjoy his nuanced direction instead of just going along for the ride. This could very well be a pretty standard heist movie, but Lee’s style and experience add little touches here and there that gives the film the legs it needs to survive multiple viewings. What’s really fun is that once you know how they pulled the heist off, you can instead look to see all the little details that went into pulling it off. I noticed little touches at the beginning that were there all along but I just never noticed because you had no reason to. This is a fun movie, well worth repeat viewings.

(MUST SEE)

——Trouble in Paradise (1932)——

If you have a tendency to stay away from older movies because you find them too tame, you might want to check out this Ernst Lubitsch gem made before the Production Code went into effect and took all the fun and sex out of filmmaking. The first scene, where the master thief meets the love of his life, is just priceless. The two of them, thieves both pretending to be persons of noble birth, slowly reveal to each other that they have in fact picked numerous objects from each other’s pockets. This is before the audience knows that they are both pickpockets, and each reveal, which should be shocking to the other, instead makes the other grow in lust. Their eyes sparkle as they realize that they are obviously made for each other.

Because this is the start of the movie, though, this romance is not yet to be storybook. Gaston, when returning a purse he stole for its reward, commands the interest of the wealthy heiress, who is obviously aroused by his charms as a man of the world. She offers him a position as her secretary, which he sees as a golden opportunity to rob her blind. But when he becomes too involved with her his girlfriend becomes jealous at his disregard for her and the ease at which he becomes a willing gigolo.

Ernst Lubitsch brings his trademark Lubitsch touch to the proceedings, with beautiful sets exposing the high life of the rich and pulling it all together with tracking shots that just glide effortlessly past the action. The leads are all fantastic and the script is top notch and extremely witty. This movie should be seen, and often.

(MUST SEE)

(January 7)

——Ms. 45 (1981)——

The first trailer on the second volume of 42nd Street Forever, a DVD compilation of weird and wild exploitation grind house trailers, is for Ms. 45, Abel Ferrara’s early revenge film about a mute girl who just isn’t going to take the abuse of men in pre-Disneyfied NYC. That trailer is so brilliant and well-shot that it pretty much makes every trailer that follows look like amaturish exploitation crap. So based on that trailer and my growing knowledge of Ferrara’s filmography (King of New York, Bad Lieutenant) I decided to pick up Ms. 45. And I’d have to say, aside from the fact that this DVD is not anamorphic and has zip for extras, it was well worth it.

Even though their plots have little in common, you can tell that Ferrara had seen, or at least heard of the Swedish revenge film, Thriller: A Cruel Picture, AKA They Call Her One Eye (1974), because that picture’s fingerprints are all over this film. First there is the whole mute girl takes revenge against her male attackers/rapists thing. And at the end there is a very similar slow motion sequence, although, thankfully, Ferrara didn’t go quite to the extremes of slowness that Thriller did. Even the main actress is the same, from her voluptuous body, big eyes and puffy lips to her to the way she whips her gun around to shoot people. Thankfully, Ferrara stopped there and didn’t completely rip off the other film, creating his own story that has some quite interesting subtexts to it. It’s rare that you see a cheap exploitation film like this one that makes you think about it and what it all means so long after the film ended.

Our mute “heroine” starts off the movie by getting raped by a masked assailant at gunpoint in a back alley. She stumbles home only to have the extreme misfortune to have interrupted a burglary in progress. The thief tries to find her stash of money, but when he discovers that she doesn’t have any money he decides to rape her instead. In the middle of this horrid task she manages to find a paperweight and brains him with it. Then, instead of doing the sane thing and calling the cops to report the crime, she drags his body into the tub and chops it into little pieces, which she then slowly starts to dump throughout the city. While dumping one of these bags, a sleazy man sees her drop it and tries to return it, but when he chases her into a corner she whips out the gun left at her apartment by the burglar and shoots him.

At first the killing and the attacks against her really shake her up. She can’t look at herself in the mirror without seeing one of the rapists her performance slips at work when things remind her everything that has transpired. But then she starts to get into the killing. This is where things get really interesting, as it becomes unclear whether or not you are still watching a classic revenge movie or if are really watching the origin of a serial killer. She hunts men taking advantage of women at first, but then gets so into the killing that it just becomes men in general that she’s after. There is a great scene towards the end that is a perfect homage to Taxi Driver’s “You talking to me?” scene, abet if Travis was a hot female mute. When she points her gun to the head of her landlady’s annoying dog you really know that she’s gone off the deep end.

It all ends at a costume party, where dressed as a nun she starts her aforementioned slo-mo massacre. Because the main character doesn’t speak, you have to fill in a lot of the blanks yourself in this movie, which is what I think makes it so fun to watch. While the costume party at first seems just like a cool set piece to end your movie, when you start to think about it there is a lot more meaning in that scene than meets the eye. The other stand out aspect to this film is Ferrara’s direction and use of cinematography. So far every film of his that I have seen has been expertly shot, and this early film from his canon is no exception. This was no sloppy, cheap production. Every penny they had was put on screen. It’s a shame Ferrara never made it mainstream, because he had real potential as an artist. If you’re interested and can find a copy of this movie, I definitely recommend you give it a shot.

(SEE)

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

TV Watch

Why do the British make so few episodes of their TV shows? I just finished watching the first season of Extras, Ricky Gervais’ new sitcom, and it was fantastic. But, like his version of The Office, a season is only 6 episodes. What the hell is that all about? I want more! Especially because it is so damn funny.

I’m pleased that his character this time around is a little more likable than David Brent, although he tends to fall into many awkward situations, a la Curb Your Enthusiasm, which ensure that life will never go easy for him. His partner in crime is a fellow female extra who is trying just as hard to land dates just he is to actually get a line in one of the many films he’s been in. The two of them seem to have Larry David’s horrible problem of sticking their foot in their mouths, though, with hilarious results.

What really seals the deal on Extras though are the guest celebrities playing themselves in each episode. I didn’t think their was anything funnier than Kate Winslett giving out phone sex advice while wearing a nun’s habit, that is until Patrick Stewart told the tale of the screenplay he wrote in which he has the power to do anything with his mind, like Professor X. And he uses that power to make women take their clothes off. And that’s basically it. Check it out on DVD and if you’ve got cable, heaven forbid, check out Season Two now, because I’m wicked jealous.

Also amazingly good right now (and on network television, nonetheless!) is the sixth season of 24. Oh man, is it good. Jack and company have really pushed it to the limit this season. Keifer is especially Keifer-tastic this season, given new depth of character to play with after having been plucked out of two years in a Chinese prison camp only to be killed for the good of the country. And when that doesn’t happen he has to work with a terrorist to save the day and shoot his good friend over said terrorist to do so! For most shows that would be more than enough drama for one season. For 24 though, that’s just the first four episodes, and that’s not even the big news! What other show could then get away with exploding a nuke in Los Angeles? 24, that’s who! (Which is not to say there hasn’t been precedent on the show in the past for this. I mean, they’ve already dropped a nuke in the desert, had a nuclear fallout over part of the city, launched nerve gas attacks, shot down Air Force One, assassinated two presidents, etc. etc. etc.) Still, damn, what a way to start off the season.

Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Best Fake Trailer Ever

I would totally pay to see this movie. The funny thing is, I can’t even remember what half of these movies are.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Those Chinese are getting a little fresh with me

Message received in today’s lunch:

“Oops…wrong cookie.”

I’m really hoping that doesn’t mean I just ate the poison one.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment