Stupid Logic

On a plus note, I can blame all of my social awkwardness on my parents, who confirmed my suspicions last night that genetics might have something to do with it. My mom even told me that she didn’t even start dating until she was 25, so I’m way ahead of the curve already. Huzzah!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Why I’m typing this and not sleeping, I’ll never know

I haven’t been sleeping well lately. That, coupled with stress from this girl at the bank I can’t seem to open my mouth to (seriously, I opened my mouth and no words came out. That’s a first for me) has led to this weird semi-cold kicking my ass and making me really tired.

Somehow I managed to spend more last month on the Visa than I did in December. This baffles me. I have a problem and need some serious help.

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Prozac Nation

Today the doggy had his first taste of doggy Prozac, and from my limited interaction with him this morning it seems like it might be working. That, or he is just really tired. After being put into his kennel, instead of barking for four hours straight he would only bark a few times and then lie down. Maybe this will finally calm him down enough to actually survive the day without going batshit crazy.

Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Instead of many small posts every day, you get one giant spilling of the guts. Enjoy

I think it is time for some therapeutic blogging, you know what I mean?

Today I had the joy of discovering that my cold that I thought I had kicked was just on vacation. I wish I could go on vacation. Instead I’m working 48 hours this week and six days a week in general for the conceivable future. Because we are understaffed. AGAIN. The joys of working retail. On the plus side, Amanda, who I know and see often, came in and applied and seems very excited to start working for Bose. We just have to wait for the background check to come back. Which takes FOREVER. But once it does come back and she can actually start working, then that will mean it will only be so long before the overtime can stop and I can go back to having my two days off. Maybe even a vacation!

Which brings me back to that cold. Damn you, cold! It’s not a normal cold. No runny nose or coughing (yet). Mainly just a fever and lots of tired aching. Like I’ve been running all day yesterday, but let’s not kid ourselves. I don’t run. That and the sinus gland behind my right ear acts up something fierce and drives me nuts. Seriously, at this point I would do anything just to make the ringing stop.

The Super Bowl was pretty lame, eh? It showed promise. The game started off with a bang and looked to be one of the greatest games ever. And then da Bears’ offense took the field and totally stunk up the place. Again and again and again. You’ve really got to hand it to da Bears’ defense, because they did a hell of a job in a tough situation. Still, the game sucked. And I wasn’t even rooting for da Bears. I was just rooting for a good game. That’s why I was rooting for New England two weeks ago to win. Not that they are my favorite team or anything, but Brady sure does know how to phone it in for the first three quarters and then pull magic out of his ass for the fourth.

We got a new dog recently. Like the beginning of January, actually. I kept meaning to post that but I didn’t. Mainly because I hate him. HATE. Oh man, I don’t know what my mom was thinking. He’s a one-year old Australian Shepherd and he is just a monster. And he likes me just about as much as I like him. Barks at me every time I come home. I’m fighting him for alpha male status in the house and I make sure he knows it. Why is he a monster, though? Because he gets bored when we leave during the day and somehow manages to find a way to destroy something new every day. Not the same stuff. New stuff. Because we tell him “NO!” when he destroys something and he’s smart enough to know not to do that again. Sigh.

Australian Shepherds need tasks, they need to herd things and they really need to run. A lot. At our house, that doesn’t happen. Max sleeps 22 hours a day and I’m sure he’d be happy sleeping the other two if he didn’t need to do silly things like eat and go to the bathroom. That’s why he’s an ideal dog for us. Ally’s a little high strung, but again, she’s fine just sleeping all day until we come back. Not Cooper (aka, the new one). He gets mad when we leave him. And he destroys.

He’s torn down my sisters blinds, knocked out the wooden slats in the living room blinds, torn apart my parent’s bed, knocked over my dad’s bedside table, torn apart magazines and books, pushed over my DVDs and CDs, scratched the hell out of front door and God knows what else. So we thought, why not try a little discipline? We got a crate for the dog.

I, amazingly, was the first to put him in it after he tipped over the table while I was in the house. He was so scared of me dragging him upstairs that he peed and pooed the whole way up, which of course I had to clean up, of course right when I was ready to leave for work. And, of course, I didn’t feel too bad about pushing him in there. Well, he started barking like a dog possessed and you could hear him trying to tear apart the kennel to get out. I swear it was the most violent thing that I have ever heard.

When my mom got home that night, who do you think was the first one to greet her at the door? You got it. He actually pulled the front of the cage inside and climbed out. The next day he broke out before my mom got down the stairs. So she took zip ties and made sure he couldn’t break the cage down. You think that ended the madness? Ha!

The next time he was in his kennel was on my day off and because I was probably starting to come down with that cold, I slept in until 11. Four plus hours he was in the cage. When I went upstairs to let him out he and the entire floor in front of the cage was soaking wet. Just covered in slime. You’ve got to hear him when he’s in there. It is the craziest thing. Constant barking. No breaks. And then he’ll throw himself at the cage repeatedly, trying to get out. It never stops.

The next day was his big day. Eight hours. Imagine the most horrifying thing a dog can do while stuck in a cage and no matter what you think up, your story will suck compared to what my mom found. The dog broke all of his “indestructible” toys we put in the cage to keep him busy, while not touching any of the food we put in there. Shattered bones that my two other dogs have not put a dent in in the five years that they’ve had them. He then shit in the cage, rolled in it, got it all over himself, all over every inch of the cage, and then somehow managed to break the plastic sheet that he lays on into three pieces and ejected it from the kennel, covered in feces.

He’s crazy. The instant I saw him I hated him and it’s turning out that I might actually be the sane one. My mom was so in love with him after she got him that I thought we’d never get rid of him, but after tonight I seriously think she’s at wit’s end. If he doesn’t get better, fast, we’re going to have to get rid of him, because we can’t take care of him. My mom is seriously questioning now why we’re his third owner in a year.

Because I’m feeling chatty…

I figured out the other day that the girl I like who works at the bank definitely does not work as a teller, but has her own desk in the back. Which makes my plan of attack slightly more difficult. Now I’m a pretty ballsy guy from time to time and am willing to just come out and say things I normally wouldn’t, but unfortunately I also have a big phobia of groups of people. And there never seems to be just one singled out person in the bank. The tellers, even though there are only two of them and like fifteen different windows, will always work right next to each other. Meaning that if I talk to one, I am basically talking to both of them. That for some reason scares the bajesus out of me. Not the saying something stupid part. The saying something stupid IN FRONT OF AN AUDIENCE. Add on top of that the consideration that I am total shit at asking someone out (just ask anyone and everyone I have ever asked out) and I become terrified that unless some perfect window of opportunity presents myself my best course of action is to cut and run. Because there is always next time, you see.

I realize I’m being a pussy, so don’t comment that. It’s got to happen sooner than later or I am just dooming myself for failure. Perfect opportunity right now, too, right? Valentine’s Day right around the corner? What better time to ask out a perfect stranger? Today I was actually thinking of doing it–that is until the sickness came back and I felt like a member of the living dead. Luckily (I guess) for me, she wasn’t there, so I could call off the whole thing without feeling guilty. Which is good, because the last time I wussed out I found on reflection later that I was horribly depressed without even realizing it. Which was a surprise, because I don’t think I’ve been seriously depressed since college. Probably not since my last relationship broke up. Otherwise I’ve been a very happy camper for the first time since, well, pre-adolescence. Ladies, I love ya, I really do, but you do have a way of making me feel like shit for no good reason.

What’s the plan of attack? I’m so glad you asked. There really is no plan. I tell myself there is one, but if it were ever put into motion I would quickly discover how poorly planned out it was. So the idea is to just be my witty, funny self. Which is entirely doable, just as long as I don’t choke. I have an amazing ability to pull shit out of my ass. I guess you could say that’s why my plans suck so bad. I have zero experience in actually having a plan. I just fly by the seat of my pants, which has worked out great for me, but doesn’t entirely fill one with confidence when trying something new. I worry, a lot. Why, I don’t know. Because people love me despite of what I consider my major weak points, probably because I roll with embarrassment so easily when others would curl into a ball. I don’t know. It just seems easier to do something when someone tells you that you have to do it. No backing out, only moving forward. I have to convince myself that there is in fact no other option other than making an ass out of myself. What’s the worst that could happen? I never pick up deposit slips at the bank again? I seriously doubt that would happen. Maybe it isn’t fear then, but my epic, never-ending case of procrastinitis.

I wish I had some more experience in this area. Yeah, I know. The only way to have experience is to just do it. Shut up. Know-it-alls. I guess my second wish is that I knew someone who had more experience in this area. What I find hilarious is that every single person I make friends with has the exact same problems. I do not know a single “playa”. There is no one to workshop with. What I get a lot of is, “Yeah, man, that’s rough. I’m glad I’m not dating anymore.” Not that I think I could workshop anything. I am, of course, notoriously stubborn. I just like to have all of my options laid out in front of me before I do anything so that if I need to zig, I zig, and if I need to zag, I zag. That’s my gift in life, to be amazingly prepared for everything.

Or to be amazingly neurotic. I mean, seriously, look how much I wrote tonight. Just killing time before I have to go to bed. Just so I can wake up tomorrow before I want to and go to work, where I will think about this time I’m wasting right now with sweet, loving thoughts.

If you’ve read all of this, thank you. And I’m sorry. Ha.

Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Ho hum

I must have caught a laziness-bug at work, because I don’t feel like doing shit lately.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

One of my all-time most favorite songs

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Inspired Lunacy

For those of you that thought SNL’s My Dick in a Box was funny and not extremely disgusting, the following clip is just for you:

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

TV Watch

Man, why does Thursday have to have so much good TV on it? Seriously, I am overflowing with good TV. The Office was in top form. You know the show is working its magic when you haven’t seen half of the episode because your eyes were screwed shut from laughing so much. Plus, I have never loved Pam more than I did in tonight’s episode. Then you have The O.C., which is simply brilliant this season. They managed to fit in one of the most obscure entertainment references tonight that I have ever seen on a show, and it was classic. The question of the night was: Should Julie pick the Bullitt or Frank? Characters were picking sides, Teams if you will, and I was filled with glee when Kaitlen pulled open her coat to reveal her Team Bullitt T-shirt. Awesomeness. Add on top of that another great Grey’s Anatomy and it makes for one full night.

The thing I love about this whole Aqua Teen Hunger Force terrorist attack in Boston is not the fact that they thought an ad of a Atari alien flipping you the bird was a bomb. No, that I can see and (kinda) understand. What I love is how upset everyone is with this ad campaign that they JUST DISCOVERED, even though the Mooninites had been up for at least two to three weeks before anyone noticed. Uh, guys, if that was actually a bomb, don’t you think it would have gone off by now? Seriously, Boston’s terrorist task force is majorly slacking. I love that the term “Mooninite” is now used frequently in the press. Every time I read that I giggle like a little child. I also love that their definition of what could constitute a “bomb” would include leaving your dead VCR on the curb for the garbage man to pick up. Never has a blinking light caused such controversy.

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

The Must List

I’ve been slacking off lately, not only with my reviews, but with the Must List too. How hard is it to make a list of five movies and post it? Apparently, pretty hard. Well, even though I’m not nearly caught up with my reviews for the month right now, I decided that since it is the end of the month, reviews or no reviews, I’m not going to get behind on the Must List again.

January was a pretty typical month for me, meaning with the New Year I haven’t exactly slowed down my movie consumption by any means. I saw 45 films in January, 39 of those for the first time. For most people, that’s a lot of frakin’ movies. For me, it’s business as usual. What was unusual, however, was how many times I went to the theater this month. I thought that I had basically broken every record I could break. Well, not exactly. I went out 15 times. My previous record, which I’ve done several times over the last four years, was 10. This month, 15. That’s basically once every other day, when you get right down and think about it. Just crazy. When you consider that over four years I’ve only averaged about 5 a month, that means that I’ve gone three times more often this month than I am likely to go.

In honor of that record I’m going to cheat, and instead of picking out five movies to recommend on The Must List, I’m going to make two lists of five. My five favorite films I saw on DVD this month, and my five Must Sees that I saw at the theater. I’m breaking my own rules, but hey, sue me. When you make a Must List you can make your own rules.

JANUARY (DVD)

United 93
Solo Con Tu Pareja
In the Bedroom
Three Colors: Red
When the Levees Broke

JANUARY (THEATER)

Volver
Children of Men
Little Children
Deliver Us From Evil
Perfume: The Story of a Murderer

(Note: It is really odd that all of my five favorite movies that I saw in the theater this month had to do with Children, specifically Children in Peril.)

Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Sign Wisdom

The fireplace replaces the tulip bed on a winter day.

Uh, ok.

Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments